New Mexico National Conservation Lands

The National Conservation Lands, also known as the National Landscape Conservation System, contain some of the West’s most spectacular landscapes.  It includes over 878 federally recognized areas and approximately 27 million acres of National Monuments, National Conservation Areas, Wilderness Areas, Wilderness Study Areas, Wild and Scenic Rivers, and National Scenic and Historic Trails.

National Conservation Lands are part of an active, vibrant landscape where people live, work and play.  They offer exceptional opportunities for recreation, solitude, wildlife viewing, exploring history, scientific research, and a wide range of traditional uses.

Please visit the pages for the National Conservation Lands in New Mexico: 

National Monuments

Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument

Organ Mountains-Desert Peaks National Monument

Prehistoric Trackways National Monument

Rí­o Grande del Norte National Monument

National Conservation Areas

El Malpais National Conservation Area

Fort Stanton-Snowy River Cave National Conservation Area

National Scenic and Historic Trails

Continental Divide National Scenic Trail

El Camino Real de Tierra Adentro National Historic Trail

Old Spanish National Historic Trail

Wild and Scenic Rivers

Rio Chama Wild and Scenic River

Rio Grande and Red River Wild and Scenic River

Wilderness Areas

Aden Lava Flow



Broad Canyon

Cinder Cone


East Potrillo Mountains

Mount Riley


Organ Mountains

Potrillo Mountains

Robledo Mountains

Sierra de las Uvas


West Malpais


Wilderness Study Areas

Alamo Hueco Mountains WSA

Antelope WSA

Apache Box WSA

Big Hatchet Mountains WSA

Blue Creek WSA

Brokeoff Mountains WSA

Cabezon WSA

Canyons WSA

Carrizozo Lava Flow WSA

Cedar Mountains WSA

Chain of Craters WSA

Chamisa WSA

Continental Divide WSA

Cooke's Range WSA

Cowboy Spring WSA

Culp Canyon WSA

Devil's Backbone WSA

Devil's Den Canyon WSA

Devil's Reach WSA

Eagle Peak WSA

El Malpais WSA

Empedrado WSA

Florida Mountains WSA

Gila Lower Box WSA

Gray Peak WSA

Guadalupe Canyon WSA

Horse Mountain WSA

Hoverrocker WSA

Ignacio Chavez WSA

Jornada del Muerto WSA

La Leña WSA

Little Black Peak WSA

Lonesome Ridge WSA

Manzano WSA

Mathers WSA

McKittrick Canyon WSA

Mesita Blanca WSA

Mudgetts WSA

Ojito WSA

Peloncillo Mountains WSA

Petaca Pinta WSA

Presilla WSA

Rio Chama WSA

Sierra de las Cañas WSA

Sierra Ladrones WSA

Stallion WSA

Veranito WSA



NM State Trust Lands

Any public use of New Mexico State Trust Lands is strictly under the jurisdiction of the New Mexico State Land Office and requires a recreational access permit. 

For more information visit the New Mexico State Land Office.

Wilderness Areas

Per the John D. Dingell, Jr. Conservation, Management, and Recreation Act which became law on March 12, 2019, this web page is currently being updated.  To find more information on the new wilderness areas in New Mexico created by the Act, please visit our John D. Dingell, Jr. Conservation, Management, and Recreation Act page.