ARTIST-IN-RESIDENCE PROGRAM SITES

2022 Artist-in-Residence Program Opportunities

The sites listed below are hosting Artist-in-Residence Programs in 2022. Each participating site has its own application process and timeline, so please use the link and information below to connect to a site that interests you.

If you are interested in a BLM-managed area that’s not listed, consider reaching out directly to the site or field office to ask if they have an Artist-in-Residence program or may be planning to start one. A directory of BLM offices is available here.

 

Alaska

Dalton Highway (Application deadline April 15, 2022)

Contact: Steve Taylor, sctaylor@blm.gov

 

California

King Range National Conservation Area 

Contact: Sandra Miles, smiles@blm.gov

Partner Artist-in-Residence webpage

 

Nevada

Black Rock Desert – High Rock Canyon Emigrant Trails National Conservation Area

Contact: Kathleen Torrence, ktorrence@blm.gov

 

New Mexico

Organ Mountains-Desert Peaks National Monument  (Application deadline March 21, 2022)

Contact: William Wight, wwight@blm.gov

Partner Artist-in-Residence webpage

 

Oregon

Cascade-Siskiyou National Monument (Application deadline April 4, 2022)

Contact: Joel Brumm, jbrumm@blm.gov

 

Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area (Application period closed)

Contact: Mattthew Betenson, mbetenso@blm.gov

 

Utah

Canyon Country District (Application deadline June 1, 2022)

Contact: Shannon Calabro, scalabro@blm.gov

 

Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument

Contact: Allysia Angus, aangus@blm.gov
 

Past Artist-in-Residence Program Sites

The BLM piloted its first Artist-in-Residence Program in 2012 at Canyons of the Ancients National Monument in southwest Colorado. The program has since expanded to include other BLM-managed lands, depending on interest, program funding, and available site staff. Below are links to past participants in the BLM Artist-in-Residence Program.

 

Alaska

Dalton Highway
Fortymile-Eagle Area
Pinnell Mountain National Recreation Trail  
White Mountains National Recreation Area

California

King Range National Conservation Area/Shelter Cove Arts & Recreation Foundation

Colorado

Canyon of the Ancients National Monument

Idaho

Owyhee Canyonlands Wilderness 
Morley Nelson Birds of Prey National Conservation Area
South Fork of Snake River 

Nevada

Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area
Black Rock Desert-High Rock Canyon Emigrant Trails National Conservation Area

New Mexico

Organ Mountains-Desert Peaks National Monument 

Oregon

Cascade-Siskiyou National Monument
Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area

Utah

Cleveland Lloyd Dinosaur Quarry
Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument 

Wyoming

National Historic Trails Interpretive Center & Casper Field Office