History By State

The BLM’s mission to sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of America’s public lands for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations.  Most of this land is located in the 12 Western states, including Alaska.

Select a state office below to explore BLM history near you.

Eastern States region photo Eastern States

Including Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, and all states east of the Mississippi River.

New Mexico region photo New Mexico

Including Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.

Oregon region photoOregon-Washington

Including Oregon and Washington. 

Utah region photo Utah