Idaho Falls District Office

The Idaho Falls District, located in southeast Idaho, manages approximately 3.7 million acres of public land. The topography and terrain differ substantially throughout the area, ranging from sagebrush and desert to high-elevation forests. The District itself incorporates 16 counties, with Montana to the north and Utah to the south. The western edge borders the Craters of the Moon National Monument and Preserve, with the eastern edge extending to the beautiful Teton mountain range.

With such a diverse geographic area, the Idaho Falls District has many challenges to face as it balances its mission of multiple use and sustainable yield to achieve a sustainable ecosystem. Some of the major activities occurring within the district include: grazing, recreation, mining, wildlife and fisheries, fire management, riparian and wetland management, realty and land use.

The Idaho Falls District is divided into four geographic areas/field offices: Challis (799,000 acres), Salmon (493,000 acres), Upper Snake (1,854,000 acres) and Pocatello (557,000 acres).


Mary D'Aversa

District Manager


Challis Field Office

P.O. Box 817
Challis, ID 83226
Phone: 208-879-6200
Fax: 208-879-6219

Pocatello Field Office

4350 Cliffs Drive
Pocatello, ID 83204
Phone: 208-478-6340
Fax: 208-478-6376

Salmon Field Office

1206 South Challis Street
Salmon, ID 83467
Phone: 208-756-5400
Fax: 208-756-5436

Upper Snake Field Office

1405 Hollipark Drive
Idaho Falls, ID 83401
Phone: 208-524-7500
Fax: 208-524-7505


Mailing Address:
1405 Hollipark Drive
Idaho Falls, ID 83401
Phone: 208-524-7500
Fax: 208-524-7505
Field Office Hours: 8-4:30 - Visitor Center Hours (map sales and passes): 8:30-4:30

TTY/Relay System

If you are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, please dial 7-1-1 to access telecommunications relay services.

COVID-19 Updates

BLM Idaho Offices are open for in-person visits. Masking requirements vary by location. The BLM has updated its masking guidelines to align with the CDC’s new COVID-19 Community Level tool. This CDC guidance helps communities decide what prevention steps to take. Individuals who are not required to wear a mask are still welcome to do so if they choose. Learn more about the BLM's COVID-19 response here. 

Please stay home if you have symptoms of COVID-19. If you are unable to visit in person, we will be happy to assist you over the phone or via email. Contact us here.