Monuments, Conservation Areas and Similar Designations

The National Monuments and National Conservation Areas Program includes about 14.9 million acres and provides direction for the BLM’s 30 national monuments, 19 national conservation areas, and six similarly designated lands, including three outstanding natural areas, one cooperative management and protection area, one forest reserve, and one National Scenic Area. These units a part of the National Conservation Lands and were established by Congress or Presidential Proclamations. These areas are managed to conserve, protect, restore, and enhance America’s national and cultural heritage, while providing compatible multiple uses including grazing, oil, gas and mining.

These lands provide opportunities for hunting, solitude, wildlife viewing, fishing, history exploration, scientific research and a wide range of traditional uses. They are home to threatened and endangered plant and animal species, significant cultural and paleontological resources, critical migration corridors for wildlife, and access for sportsmen and sportswomen to world class hunting and fishing areas. With 8.6 million visitors to national monuments and national conservation areas and similar designations, the communities surrounding the units of the National Conservation Lands derive significant economic benefits through tourism, the service industry, and long term job and population growth.