Special Recreation Permits

Special Recreation Permits are issued to businesses, organizations, and individuals to allow the use of specific public land and related waters for commercial, competitive, and organized group use.

Special Recreation Permits allow the land stewards to coordinate and track commercial and competitive use of public lands. They also provide resource protection measures to ensure the future enjoyment of those resources by the public.

Application Process

  1. Verify that the activity is going to take place on public lands by contacting the local BLM Field Office in the area of activity
  2. The local BLM office will supply you with an application, checklist and local procedures 
  3. 180 days prior to operation, file the application and items identified on the checklist
  4. The BLM will advise applicant of disapproval or request additional information within 30 days from receipt of application
  5. Documentation required may include an operating plan, a business plan, insurance, maps, other state or local licenses
  6. Contact your local BLM office for more information

This process may take up to 180 days to complete depending upon the complexity of the applicant's operations plan. 

Not all applications submitted receive a permit. Therefore, any action taken before receiving a special recreation permit authorization, such as advertising or expending funds, is premature and at the applicant’s risk.

View additional region-specific information below as it becomes available.

Alaska

Alaska Contacts for Special Recreation Permits

Anchorage Field Office
Lead for Special Recreational Permits: Scott Justham
907-267-1459
Email: sjustham@blm.gov

Fairbanks District Office
Lead for Special Recreational Permits: Eric Yeager
(907) 474-2357
Email: eyeager@blm.gov

Glennallen Field Office 
Lead for Special Recreational Permits: Denton Hamby 
907-822-7311
Email: dhamby@blm.gov

Arizona

Arizona Recreation and Visitor Services Program

Special Recreation Permits Contact List 

Updated on August 6, 2019

Arizona Strip District

Arizona Strip District email
phone: 435-688-3200

Arizona Strip Field Office email
Vermilion Cliffs National Monument email
Grand Canyon - Parashant National Monument email
phone: 435-688-3200

Colorado River District  

Kingman Field Office email
phone: 928-718-3700

Lake Havasu Field Office email
phone: 928-505-1200

Yuma Field Office email   
phone: 928-317-3200

Phoenix District Office

Phoenix District Office email
phone: 623-580-5500

Lower Sonoran Field Office email
Hassayampa Field Office email
phone: 623-580-5500

Gila District Office  

Safford Field Office email
phone: 928-348-4400

Tucson Field Office email
phone: 520-258-7200
   

Arizona State Office

Arizona State Office email
phone: 602-417-9200

California

Northern California

Applegate Field Office
Phone: 530-233-4666  
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_AP@blm.gov

Arcata Field Office
Phone:  707-825-2300
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_AR@blm.gov

Eagle Lake Field Office
Phone: 530-257-0456
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_EL@blm.gov

Redding Field Office
Phone: 530-224-2100
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_RE@blm.gov

Central California District

Bakersfield Field Office
Phone: 661-391-6000
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_BK@blm.gov

Bishop Field Office
Phone: 760- 872-5000
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_BI@blm.gov

Central Coast Field Office
Phone: 831-582-2200  
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_CC@blm.gov 

Mother Lode Field Office
Phone: 916-941-3101  
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_ML@blm.gov

Ukiah Field Office
Phone: 707-468-4000
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_UK@blm.gov

California Desert District

Barstow Field Office
Phone: 760-252-6000
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_BA@blm.gov

El Centro Field Office
Phone: 760-337-4400
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_EC@blm.gov

Needles Field Office
Phone: 760-326-7000
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_NE@blm.gov

Palm Springs South Coast Field Office
Phone: 760-833-7100
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_PS@blm.gov

Ridgecrest Field Office
Phone:  760-384-5400 
E-mail: BLM_CA_Web_RI@blm.gov

 

Colorado

Colorado Contacts for Special Recreation Permits 

Royal Gorge Field Office
Linda Skinner - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 878-3837
lskinner@blm.gov

Sean Reynolds - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(719) 269-8538
sreynold@blm.gov

San Luis Valley Field Office
Sean Noonan - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 849-3149
snoonan@blm.gov

Clayton Davey - Park Ranger
(719) 849-3935
cdavey@blm.gov

Gunnison Field Office
Jim Lovelace - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 642-4953
jlovelace@blm.gov

Kristi Murphy - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 642-4955
kmurphy@blm.gov

Uncompahgre Field Office & Gunnison Gorge NCA
Robin Lewis - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 240-5318
rlewis@blm.gov

Sherman (Edd) Franz - Monument Manager
(970) 240-5337
efranz@blm.gov

Tatyana Sukharnikova - Park Ranger
(970) 240-5348
tsukharnikova@blm.gov

Grand Junction Field Office, McInnis Canyon NCA and Dominguez-Escalante NCA
Andy Windsor - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 244-3177
awindsor@blm.gov

Dan Ben-Horin - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 244-3006
dbenhorin@blm.gov

Paul Sever - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 244-3067
psever@blm.gov

Tres Rios Field Office
Jeff Christenson - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 882-6811
jchristenson@blm.gov

Justin Hunt - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 882-1125
j1hunt@blm.gov

Kremmling Field Office
Ken (Shane) Dittlinger - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 724-3003
kdittlinger@blm.gov

White River Field Office
Alan Czepinski - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 878-3837
aczepinski@blm.gov

Little Snake Field Office
Dario Archuleta - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 826-5008
darchuleta@blm.gov 

Gary Keeling - Park Ranger
(970) 826-5083
gkeeling@blm.gov 

Colorado River Valley Field Office
Kim Leitzinger
kmmiller@blm.gov

Justin Jones - Park Ranger
(970) 876-9074
jejones@blm.gov

Miles Gurtler - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(970) 876-9068
mgurtler@blm.gov

Colorado State Office
Tim Finger - Outdoor Recreation Planner
(303) 239-3732
tfinger@blm.gov

Idaho

Idaho Contacts for Special Recreation Permits

Birds of Prey National Conservation Area
Jared Fluckiger
208.384.3335
jfluckiger@blm.gov 

Jarbidge Field Office
Nathan Jayo
208.736.2362    
njayo@blm.gov

Idaho Falls Field Office
Monica Zimmerman
208.524.7543
mzimmerman@blm.gov

Bruneau Field Office
Casey Steenhoven
208.384.3494
csteenhoven@blm.gov

Shoshone Field Office
John Kurtz
208.732.7296
jkurtz@blm.gov

Pocatello Field Office
Chuck Patterson
208.478.6362
cpatterson@blm.gov

Four Rivers Field Office
David Draheim
208.384.3358    
ddraheim@blm.gov

Craters of the Moon National Monument
David Freiberg
208.732.7271
dfreiberg@blm.gov

Salmon Field Office
Travis Seaberg 
208.756.5412
gseaberg@blm.gov

Owyhee Field Office
Ryan Homan
208.896.5925
rhoman@blm.gov

Burley Field Office
Dennis Thompson
208.677.6664
dthompson@blm.gov

Challis Field Office
Angela Beley
208.879.6247
abeley@blm.gov

Cottonwood Field Office
Joe O’Neill (Lower  Salmon) 
208.962.3683
jfoneill@blm.gov

Cottonwood Field Office (Clearwater)
Rebecca Urbanczyk
208.962-3796
rurbanczyk@blm.gov
        
Coeur d’Alene Field Office
Jake Bachtel
208.769.5041
jbachtel@blm.gov

Montana-Dakotas

Montana-Dakotas Contacts for Special Recreation Permits

Billings Field Office
Lead for Special Recreational Permits: Jenny Alexander
406-896-5248
Email: jalexander@blm.gov

Butte Field Office
Lead for Special Recreational Permits (Outfitter Guides): Kelly Scarbrough
406-533-7637
Email: kscarbrough@blm.gov

Lead for Special Recreational Permits (ATV guides at Pipestone and events): Brad Colin
406-533-7638
Email: bcolin@blm.gov

Dillon Field Office
Lead for Special Recreational Permits: Chris McGrath
406-682-4082
Email: cmcgrath@blm.gov

Lewistown Field Office
Lead for Special Recreational Permits: Travis Rixford
406-538-1905
Email: trixford@blm.gov

Malta, Glasgow, and Havre Field Offices
Lead for Special Recreational Permits: Jason Snellman
406-654-5118
Email: jsnellman@blm.gov

Miles City Field Office
Lead for Special Recreational Permits: Dena Sprandel-Lang
406-233-2828
Email: dslang@blm.gov

Missoula Field Office
Lead for Special Recreational Permits: Maria Craig
406-329-1058
Email: macraig@blm.gov

North Dakota Field Office
Lead for Special Recreational Permits: Paul Kelley
701-227-7767
Email: pwkelley@blm.gov

South Dakota Field Office
Lead for Special Recreational Permits: Ryan Larson
605-892-7033
Email: rlarson@blm.gov
 

 

 

Nevada

Nevada Contacts for Special Recreation Permits

Battle Mountain District Office
Phone: 775-635-4000
Email: bmfoweb@blm.gov

Carson City District Office
Phone: 775-885-6000
Email: ccfoweb@blm.gov

Elko District Office 
Phone: 775-753-0200
Email: elfoweb@blm.gov

Ely Field Office
Phone: 775-289-1800
Email: eyfoweb@blm.gov

Southern Nevada District Office
Phone: 702-515-5000
Email: lvfoweb@blm.gov

Winnemucca District Office 
Phone: 775-623-1500
Email: wfoweb@blm.gov

 

Oregon-Washington

Utah

UTAH SRP Webpage 

Utah State Office
Chelsea McKinney
Acting Recreation and Visitor Services Lead
440 West 200 South, Ste. 500
Salt Lake City, UT 84106
(775) 623-1771
cmmckinney@blm.gov

Salt Lake Field Office
2370 South 2300 West
(801) 977-4300
blm_ut_sl_recpermit@blm.gov

Fillmore Field Office
Jay Cram
27020 West Sand Mt Road
Nephi, UT 84648
(435) 433-5960
jcram@blm.gov

Teresa Frampton
95 East 400 North
Fillmore, UT 84631
(435) 743-3106
tframpto@blm.gov

Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument
Paul Grimm
SRP Administrator
(435) 644-1313
BLM_UT_GS_SRP@blm.gov

Clay Stewart
SRP Administrator
(435) 644-1241
BLM_UT_GS_SRP@blm.gov

Kanab Field Office
Paul Grimm
SRP Administrator
(435) 644-1313
BLM_UT_GS_SRP@blm.gov

Clay Stewart
SRP Administrator
(435) 644-1241
BLM_UT_GS_SRP@blm.gov

Cedar City Field Office
Leisel Whitmore
176 East D.L. Sargent Drive
Cedar City, UT 84721-9337
(435) 865-3012
lwhitmore@blm.gov

St. George Field Office
Kyle Voyles
345 East Riverside Drive
St. George, UT 84790
(435) 688-3274
kvoyles@blm.gov

Henry Mountain Field Station
Hunter Harridge
380 South 100 West
PO Box 99
Hanksville, UT 84734
(435) 542-3461
hharridge@blm.gov

Richfield Field Office
Graydon Bascom
150 East 900 North
Richfield, UT 84701
(435) 896-1532

Moab Field Office
Email: BLM_UT_MB_SRP@blm.gov

Sharon Brussell
82 East Dogwood, Suite M
Moab, UT 84532
(435) 259-2183
BLM_UT_MB_SRP@blm.gov

Todd Murdock
82 East Dogwood, Suite M
Moab, UT 84532
(435) 259-2123
BLM_UT_MB_SRP@blm.gov

Katie Stevens
82 East Dogwood, Suite M
Moab, UT 84532
(435) 259-2172
BLM_UT_MB_SRP@blm.gov

Monticello Field Office
Silas Sparks   
365 North Main Street
PO Box 7
Monticello, UT 84535
(435) 587-1504
ssparks@blm.gov

Vernal Field Office
Rene Arce
170 South 500 East
Vernal, UT 84078
(435) 781-4501
rarce@blm.gov

Price Field Office
Myron Jeffs
125 South 600 West
Price, UT 84501
(435) 636-3659
mjeffs@blm.gov

Jaydon Mead
125 South 600 West
Price, UT 84501
(435) 636-3646
jmead@blm.gov

Wyoming

Wyoming Contacts for Special Recreation Permits

Buffalo and Newcastle Field Offices
Rachel Woita
307-684-1116
Email: rwoita@blm.gov

Casper Field Office
Cullen Hardy
307-261-7614
Email: chardy@blm.gov

Backup: Kathy Kuhnel
(307) 261-7644
Email: kkuhnel@blm.gov

Cody Field Office
Richard Tryder
307-578-5926
Email: rtryder@blm.gov

Kemmerer Field Office
Blaine Potts
307-828-4503
Email: bpotts@blm.gov

Lander Field Office
Michael Coyne
307-332-8420
Email: mcoyne@blm.gov

Backup: Jared Oakleaf
307-332-8407
Email: joakleaf@blm.gov

Pinedale Field Office
Joel Klosterman
307-367-5388
Email: jklosterman@blm.gov

Rawlins Field Office
Andrew Mowrey
307-328-4310
Email: amowrey@blm.gov

Rock Springs Field Office
Steve Madden
307-352-0288
Email: smadden@blm.gov

Backup: Jo Foster
307-352-0327
Email: gfoster@blm.gov

Worland Field Office
Hannah Fortney
307-347-5179
Email: hfortney@blm.gov

Do You Need a Permit?

Consider these questions:

  • Will you be rafting a river that requires a permit?
  • Will you be traveling in a designated Wilderness?
  • Are you charging a fee?
  • Do you expect to make money on the event or is the fee to cover expenses?
  • Will there be a competition?
  • Will you advertise?
  • Will you mark a course?
  • Will you be expecting vehicles at your event? (How many?)
  • Will your event involve public lands?
  • Is anyone being paid to organize, lead, or participate in your activity?

If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, you may need a permit from the BLM.

 

Photo alt tag goes here