Mountain landscape with a river flowing the the canyons.

Dingell Act – Emery County Land Exchange

The John D. Dingell, Jr. Conservation, Management and Recreation Act, Public Law 116-9, Section 1255 directs an exchange of land between the Secretary of the Interior, acting through the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) and the State of Utah, School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration (State or SITLA). The Federal and State (non-Federal) lands are located throughout Utah in Rich, Utah, Juab, Beaver, Millard, Uintah, Iron, Kane, Summit, Wasatch, Carbon, Emery, Grand, San Juan, Tooele, and Sevier Counties. If necessary for value equalization, non-Federal lands in Washington County may also be included. The purpose of the land exchange is to consolidate land ownership for both the State of Utah and the United States;  place mineral interests and valuable conservation and recreation lands within newly created wilderness, recreation, and conservation designations under the Dingell Act into public ownership; and place lands with revenue-producing potential located outside of special management areas into State ownership for the benefit of Utah’s public schools. 

Notice of Proposal - Story Map

Visit the Notice of Proposal - Story Map to learn more about the Dingell Act – Emery County Land Exchange.

Dingell Act - Emery County Land Exchange Story Map cover page.