Western Oregon RAC

RAC map

The Western Oregon Resource Advisory Council (RAC) provides advice and recommendations on all aspects of public land management, including Secure Rural Schools Title II recommendations, to the BLM's Coos Bay, Medford, Roseburg, and Northwest Districts as well as part of the Lakeview District. The jurisdiction of the Western Oregon RAC includes BLM-managed public lands in Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine, Klamath, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington, and Yamhill Counties.

The Western Oregon RAC meetings are announced in the Federal Register at least two weeks prior to the meeting(s). All RAC meetings are open to the public, and each meeting includes time for the public to present or comment on issues for RAC consideration.

The Secretary of the Interior appoints citizens to staggered three-year terms on the Council; therefore one-third of the member terms expire each year.

The Secretary of the Interior appoints a total of 15 citizens to staggered three-year terms on the Council. Each year, one-third of the member terms expire and the BLM accepts nominations for new members.

Members of the Western Oregon RAC have been appointed to represent the following three interest groups:

Category One: Five members representing: energy and mineral development (with a special emphasis on transportation or rights-of-way interests); the commercial timber industry; organized labor or non-timber forest product harvester groups; developed outdoor recreation, off-highway vehicle users, or commercial recreation (with a special emphasis on commercial or recreation fishing); or Federal grazing or other land permits or represent nonindustrial private forest land owners.

Category Two: Five members representing: nationally recognized environmental organizations; regionally or locally recognized environmental organizations; dispersed recreational activities; archaeological and historical interests; or nationally or regionally recognized wild horse and burro interest groups, wildlife or hunting organizations, or watershed associations.

Category Three: Five members who: hold state elected office; hold county or local elected office; represent Indian tribes within or adjacent to the area for which the Council is organized; are school officials or teachers with knowledge in natural resource management or the natural sciences; or represent the affected public-at-large and/or are employed by a state agency responsible for the management of natural resources, land or water.


Member Interest Term Start Date Term End Date
Lance Powlison Transportation/
Rights of Way
06/27/2018 06/27/2021
Dean Finnerty Commercial Recreation 07/31/2015 09/24/2021
Dino Venti OHV 05/17/2019 05/17/2022
Samara Phelps Commercial Recreation 05/17/2019 05/17/2022
Jack LeRoy OHV 08/26/2019 08/26/2022
Matthew Swanson Dispersed Recreation 09/24/2018 09/24/2021
Edwin Anderson Dispersed Recreation 05/17/2019 05/17/2022
Ken McCall Dispersed Recreation 05/17/2019 05/17/2022
Stanley Vejtasa Watershed Assoc 07/31/2015 08/26/2021
George McKinley Reg Enviro Org 07/31/2015 08/26/2021
Michael Kennedy Tribal Interests 06/27/2019 06/27/2021
Robert Main Elected Official 09/24/2018 09/24/2021
Kevin Christiansen State of Oregon 08/26/2019 08/26/2021
Lily Morgan Elected Official 08/26/2019 08/26/2022
Craig Pope Elected Official 08/03/2015 06/27/2021

Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act, Title II

Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act Title II funds are managed by Federal agencies and the Western Oregon RAC recommends how these funds will be spent. Title II funding provides community-based solutions to pressing public lands challenges like wildland fire prevention, trash clean-up, watershed restoration, road maintenance, control of noxious weeds and more.   

Individuals, non-profit organizations, organized groups and local governments can submit funding applications for natural resource projects in Benton, Clackamas, Columbia, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine, Klamath, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook Washington and Yamhill Counties through the BLM Secure Rural Schools Title II Program. The Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act provides funds for a variety of activities that benefit Federal lands and resources in the benefiting county.

Title II funds are designed to make investments in public lands and create additional employment opportunities through projects that improve the maintenance of existing infrastructure, implement stewardship objectives that enhance forest ecosystems, and restore and improve land health and water quality. These projects are also designed to improve cooperative relationships among the people that use and care for public lands and the agencies that manage these lands.

Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act of 2000, Public Law 106-393, Title II, as reauthorized by the “Further Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2020” (P.L.116-94).

Title II funds

As of January 2021, there is approximately $3.1 million of Title II funding available within the Western Oregon RAC. This includes some accumulated funding through FY 2020 (FY 2021 payment year). 

Applications for Title II funding can be found on https://www.grants.gov/ by searching for L21AS00235.

BLM Secure Rural Schools Title II Project Coordinators

It is recommended, prior to submitting an application, to contact the program expert at the BLM office in the district or field office where the work will take place to discuss the type of project(s) that are available or of interest to determine, if it meets the criteria under this funding opportunity notice.

You can find a map of the western Oregon BLM District and Field Offices at https://blm-egis.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=a446ec91307c45898cafe57a5f26982e.

District/field office project point of contacts are identified below for FY2021. 

Statewide – Patricia (Pat) Johnston, pjohnsto@blm.gov, 541-683-6181

Northwest Oregon District – Patricia (Pat) Johnston, pjohnsto@blm.gov, 541-683-6181

Coos Bay District – Megan Harper, m1harper@blm.gov, 541-751-4353, or Stephanie Messerle, smesserl@blm.gov, 541-751-4230

Medford, Roseburg District and Klamath Falls Field Office of the Lakeview District – Christina Beslin, cbeslin@blm.gov, 541-618-2371