Washington: Spokane District Modifies Fire Restrictions

SPOKANE, Wash. – Due to the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Spokane District’s commitment to keeping public landscapes healthy and productive, fire restrictions on lands administered by the district have been modified to prohibit the building, maintaining, attending or using a fire of any type, including charcoal briquette fires. 

An exemption is made for liquefied and bottled gas stoves and heaters provided they are used within an area at least 10 feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable material.  The modified restrictions will take effect at 12:01 a.m. Friday, Aug. 4 and will affect BLM lands in the following eastern Washington counties: Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Walla Walla, Whitman, and Yakima counties.  Restrictions are in place until further notice. 

In addition to prohibiting campfires, restrictions on the use of off-road vehicles, smoking, shooting of exploding targets and the use of fireworks is still in effect.   A complete, modified fire restriction order can be found online at https://www.blm.gov/sites/blm.gov/files/press-release/files/Signed%20Fire%20Restrictions%20Modification%20Order_0.pdf.  

This year, we invite everyone to reimagine your public lands as we celebrate 75 years of the BLM’s stewardship and service to the American people. The BLM manages approximately 245 million acres of public land located primarily in 12 Western states, including Alaska. The BLM also administers 700 million acres of sub-surface mineral estate throughout the nation. The agency’s mission is to sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of America’s public lands for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations. 

Release Date


Bureau of Land Management


Jeff Clark