Fire Restrictions Increased for Public Lands in Eastern Washington

Spokane, Wash - The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Spokane District has expanded the prohibition to its existing fire restrictions order. The prohibiting of building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, including charcoal briquette fires is now in effect in the following counties:  Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Walla Walla, Whitman, and Yakima.

In addition to prohibiting campfires, restrictions on the use of off-road vehicles, and smoking are also prohibited on public lands administered by the BLM and the Bureau of Reclamation (BOR) in eastern Washington. Also, the discharge of firearms except while engaged in lawful hunt pursuant to state, federal or tribal law and regulations, on public lands administered by the BLM and the Bureau of Reclamation (BOR) in the following counties:  Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Franklin, Grant, and Yakima. The temporary ban will take effect Aug. 26 at 12:01 a.m.   

A complete fire restriction order is attached to this release and can be found online at

The BLM manages more than 245 million acres of public land located primarily in 12 western states, including Alaska, on behalf of the American people. The BLM also administers 700 million acres of sub-surface mineral estate throughout the nation. Our mission is to sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of America’s public lands for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations.

Release Date


Bureau of Land Management


Spokane District Office


Jeff Clark