Tuttle Creek Campground
Movie Road Lone Pine, CA 93545
From Highway 395, drive 3.5 miles west of Lone Pine on Whitney Portal Road, then 1.5 miles south on Horseshow Meadow Road, follow signs to the campground.
Tuttle Creek Campground
$10.00 per site per night. No reservations. Open all year.
Tuttle Creek Campground offers 83 RV/tent sites, with ten pull-through trailer spaces, maximum recommended RV length is 30 feet. All sites include a fire pit, picnic table and a lantern holder. No hook-up. Potable water is available seasonally. Dump station fee is $10.00, no passes accepted, closed in winter. Closest amenities are 5 miles northeast in Lone Pine.
One group site is available for $30.00 per night. The group camping area is approximately the size of four sites combined, with six picnic tables and four fire pits. Tent camping will accommodate up to 15 people comfortably. RV and trailer space within the group site is limited to approximately four. Adjacent sites may be rented upon arrival. Please call for group site reservations (760) 872-5000.
Two horse corrals are available for $10.00 per night, including the associated site. Weed-free hay is required. Reservations accepted.
Camping for a period longer than 14 days at any one campground, not to exceed 28 days per calendar year for all Bishop Field Office campgrounds, is prohibited without the written permission from the Field Office Manager.
A California Campfire Permit is not required for fires within established fire rings in developed campgrounds. Seasonal fire restrictions may prohibit campfires during periods of high fire danger. Please check the BLM’s website for information on current fire restrictions or call the Bishop Field Office at (760) 872-5000.
Off Highway Vehicle Regulations
Visitors are responsible for knowing area rules and regulations. The regulations are enforceable under U.S. Code of Federal Regulations and violations are punishable with fines up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment for not longer than 12 months.
- Within the campgrounds, all motor vehicles must adhere to the 10 mph speed limit. No motor vehicle shall exceed 15 mph within 50 feet of any campground, campsite, or concentration of people or animals.
- Within the Bishop Field Office, Poleta is the only open riding area. The remainder of the Field Office is designated as limited use, where vehicle use is limited to established roads and trails and off-route travel is strictly prohibited.
- All off road vehicles must have a CA Green Sticker, Red Sticker, have a California nonresident OHV use permit or be legally registered in another state.
- It is illegal to possess an open container of an alcoholic beverage while riding in or operating an off-highway vehicle.
- State law requires the use of helmets while riding ATV's and UTV’s. A helmet is not required by law, although is highly recommended for operating a motorcycle off-highway.
- The operator of an off-highway motor vehicle shall be able to reach and operate all controls necessary to safely operate the vehicle.
Operation and maintenance of the facilities, roads and trails within the Bishop Resource Management Area are funded in part, by the State of California Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Recreation Division.
For more information or to review current and past grants visit: California State Parks.
For information about ATV safety visit: ATV Safety Institute.
For safety information or Recreational Vehicle training visit: Recreational Off-highway Vehicle Association.
In case of an emergency, call 9-1-1
Inyo County Sheriff (760) 873-7887
Mono County Sheriff (760) 932-7549
Surrounding the BLM lands throughout the Bishop Field Office Resource Management Area is land owned by the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power or private landowners. Please obey signs and stay on trails. Please respect the rights of private landowners and signs posted in these areas.
The water at Tuttle is safe to drink. However, the water system at Tuttle Campground failed to comply with reporting requirements, as required for drinking water standards during 2022. Due to this failure, the water system at these locations is in violation of the regulations. This failure was not an emergency. You have a right to know what happened, what you should do, and what we did to correct the situation.
We operate a seasonal water system which generally operates from beginning of April to end of October. Per Revised Total Coliform Rule, we are required to comply with the Seasonal System Start-up Procedures every year and obtain approval from the State Water Resources Control Board (hereinafter “State Water Board”), Division of Drinking Water before we open our water system to public. Revised Total Coliform Rule also requires notification to the State Water Board of the system shutdown at the end of the season. During the 2022, season, we did not fully comply with the requirements by failing to obtain a certified operator to conduct the start-up procedure of our System.