Cabezon Creek WSA, NM
Railroad Valley Oil Well, Battle Mountain NV Antelope in New Mexico Arrow-leaf balsam root in Montana Wind Turbine Fire Management Officer in Eugene, OR
BLM>More BLM Programs
Print Page

BLM Acquisitions Services and Financial Assistance

Small Business Resources

 Small Business Program Overview

Download the BLM's Small 
Business Program Overview

The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) is committed to increasing contracting opportunities for the small business community.  Through the links below, find resources tailored to your small business needs. 

Note:  These resources supplement - not replace - the contracting information on our site.  You should also read the contracting information for business procedures and requirements.


Blue Divider Line

Two Types of Certifications

Two types of certifications are available for small businesses -- self and Small Business Administration (SBA). Visit the SBA Office of Size Standards at to see if you qualify as a small business. Based on current size standards, some small businesses can self-certify.


You may self-certify if you are a woman-owned small business or a service-disabled or veteran-owned small business. Visit for an explanation of the above categories. For more information about woman-owned small opportunities, go to

Service-disabled or veteran-owned businesses can register their business qualifications in a database maintained by the VA Center for Veterans Enterprise (CVE). For more information, visit

SBA Certification

To qualify as a Small Disadvantaged Business, an 8(a) participant, or a Historically Underutilized Business Zone (HUBZone), you must comply with the SBA’s official certification process. If you would like to use your status as an 8(a) participant, a small disadvantaged business, or a HUBZone business, you will need to be able to validate to government procurement personnel that you qualify.

Small disadvantaged businesses must be owned by individuals who are “socially and economically” disadvantaged as defined by regulations. For more information, please refer to

The 8(a) program assists in the expansion and development of existing, newly organized, or prospective profit-oriented small disadvantaged firms. Small businesses may apply for the Section 8(a) program if they are owned and controlled by one or more persons who can provide evidence of having been deprived of the opportunity to develop and maintain a competitive position in the economy because of social and economic disadvantages. For more information, visit

The Historically Underutilized Business Zones (HUBZone) Program stimulates economic development and creates jobs in urban and rural communities by providing Federal contracting preferences to small businesses. These preferences go to small businesses that obtain this certification by employing staff who live in a HUBZone, and the company must have a “principal office” in one of the specifically designated areas. To determine whether your business qualifies for HUBZone certification by the SBA, please visit


Acquisition Services Home
Small Business Resources
Financial Assistance
Glossary of Terms