Cabezon Creek WSA, NM
BLM>Recreation>National Recreation Programs>Recreation Fee/Permit Program >Recreation RACs>Recreation RACs Interactive Map Page
Print Page

BLM/Forest Service Recreation RACs Web Sites Interactive Map

Following is an interactive map that provides links to information on advisory committees (RACs or Recreation RACs) that provide recommendations on BLM and US Forest Service recreation fee proposals. Below the map is a detailed description of each advisory committee.

BLM AZ Resource Advisory Council BLM ID Coeur d BLM ID--Boise District RAC BLM ID--Idaho Falls District RAC BLM ID--Twin Falls District RAC BLM Western Montana RAC BLM Central Montana RAC BLM NV--Mojave Southern Great Basin RAC BLM NV--Northeastern Great Basin RAC BLM NV--Sierra Front-Northwestern Great Basin RAC BLM New Mexico Resource Advisory Council BLM Dakotas Resource Advisory Committee BLM Eastern Montana RAC FS Pacific Northwest Recreation RAC FS California Recreation RAC Alaska Resource Advisory Council Utah Resource Advisory Council Colorado Resource Advisory Councils

BLM Resource Advisory Councils (RACs)

Each state listed below has one or more BLM Resource Advisory Council (RAC) that is performing the duties of a Recreation RAC. Click on the links below to visit websites about those RACs and to view their current membership and agendas.
New Mexico (in addition these National Grasslands are also working with this RAC; Black Kettle, McClellan Creek, and Rita Blanca): New Mexico BLM RAC.
North Dakota and South Dakota (Except for Black Hills National Forest): Dakotas BLM RAC.

Forest Service-Chartered Recreation RACs

Following is a list of new, Forest Service-chartered Recreation RACs in particular regions. 
Pacific Northwest Recreation RAC - Covers the states of Oregon and Washington.
Pacific Southwest Recreation RAC - Covers the state of California.
Rocky Mountain Recreation RAC - Covers the states of Colorado and Kansas.
Eastern Recreation RAC - Covers the eastern states of Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan, Indiana, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, Washington DC, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont, and Maine.
Southern Recreation RAC - Covers the southern states of Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Tennessee, Kentucky, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Puerto Rico.


Not Using an Advisory Body

In consultation with the governors of the states of Alaska, Nebraska and Wyoming, the Secretaries of Interior and Agriculture decided not to establish a Recreation RAC.

2005 Recreation RAC Organizational Listening Sessions 

To help develop a workable committee system to carry out these advisory duties, the BLM and Forest Service held 11 listening sessions in Idaho, Oregon, California, Colorado, Arizona, Nevada, Georgia, and Washington, DC, in June and July of 2005. The agencies heard from key partners, organizations, and existing BLM and Forest Service Resource Advisory Council members. A consistent theme of those meetings was controlling the costs of the committees and the effective use of existing advisory committees.
After these public meetings, numerous conversations with congressional staff, internal agency analysis, and legal review, the BLM and Forest Service established the Recreation RAC organization detailed above that was approved by both the Department of Interior and the Department of Agriculture.