Vermillion Cliffs--Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument
Calf Creek Falls Cedar Mesa Ruin Cleveland Lloyd Gallery Simpson Springs Pony Express Station Cedar Mesa
BLM>Utah>St. George>BLM Special Areas>National Conservation Lands
Print Page
National Conservation Lands

The Bureau of Land Management's National Conservation Lands, also known as the National Landscape Conservation System (NLCS), contain some of the West’s most spectacular landscapes. Created in 2000, National Conservation Lands now include over 887 units and approximately 27 million acres of National Conservation Areas, National Monuments, Wilderness Areas, Wilderness Study Areas, Wild and Scenic Rivers, National Scenic and Historic Trails, and Conservation Lands of the California Desert.

BLM manages National Conservation Lands for conservation purposes under its multiple-use mandate. These lands represent the unique place that is the west, showcasing lands of significant cultural, ecological, and scientific value. They offer exceptional opportunities for recreation, solitude, wildlife viewing, exploring history, scientific research, and a wide range of traditional uses such as hunting and grazing.

The mission of the NLCS is to conserve, protect, and restore nationally significant landscapes recognized for their outstanding cultural, ecological, and scientific values.

The St. George Field Office manages 15 Wilderness areas, 2 National Conservation Areas, 11 Wild River segments, and 1 National Historic Trail.

For more information about the National Conservation Lands System, please visit the Utah State web site.

National Conservation Lands

SGFO National Conservation Lands Map

Beaver Dam Mountains from inside Beaver Dam Wash NCA