
2016 Annual SRP Requirements Checklist 

 
Annual Pre-Season Items Needed: 
 

___ 1. Submit a Completed and Signed ANNUAL ITINERARY.  

 SPRING use are due by March 15 

 SUMMER use are due by April 15   

 WINTER use are due by August 15 

 HUNTING OUTFITTERS AND GUIDES   
 Big Game Hunting: due by July 15 

 Mountain Lion Hunting Outfitters:   due by September 15  

Notification of changes or additions to Annual Itinerary – Changes should be received 10 days 

prior to going out and require approval of permit administrator and/or Field Manager.  We 

realize that many requests for outfitter services happen unexpectedly and much less than 10 days 

out.   

 

___ 2. Submit a Completed and Signed OPERATING PLAN VALIDATION. Current Annual 

Operating Plans and Safety Plans need to be completed or validated each year before your 

permits or itineraries are approved.  If you do NOT have a multi-year permit, please fill out the 

Operating Plan template and modify as needed. If you have a multi-year permit, please make 

sure there are no changes to your Operating Plan and complete the Operating Plan Validation 

Form.  Once the correct form is complete, please sign and return.  An Operating Plan must be 

approved and signed by the Field Manager to be valid.  You are also required to furnish the 

permit administrator a copy of your Safety Plan.  

 

___ 3. Submit a Signed 2016 COLORADO SRP HANDBOOK VALIDATION.  

Signing validates that you have read, understood and received a copy of the 2015 

Handbook/stipulations. Standard stipulations (pages 14-23 of Colorado SRP Handbook) for all 

permits, and (pages 24-25 of Colorado SRP Handbook) for competitive & OHV events, if 

applicable.  

 

___ 4. Submit a copy of all STATE OUTFITTERS LICENSES and/or REGISTRATIONS 

required by the Colorado Parks and Wildlife and/or the Office of Outfitter Registration 

(Department of Regulatory Agencies) and/or a COLORADO STATE CHILD CARE 

LICENSE if you work with minors.  

 

___ 5. Submit a valid INSURANCE POLICY identifying the “Department of the Interior, 

Bureau of Land Management” as additionally insured (Not applicable for Colorado schools or 

other State of Colorado entities). See page 10 of Colorado SRP Handbook for minimum 

acceptable liability insurance coverage. Current Proof of Insurance must be provided prior to 

permit issuance or before the Annual Operating Authorization is issued.  We are required to 

maintain a copy of the actual policy on file.  Please send it to us or make arrangements with your 

insurance provider to send it to us directly.  

  

___ 6. A copy of your current BROCHURE and PRICE LIST.  



 

___ 7. A copy of your blank CLIENT CONTRACT/WAIVER.  

 

Note: * Multi-year permittees need only submit if the use areas or operation for the current year  

differ from the map or operating plan which you included with your original permit application. 

At their discretion, Field Managers may also require that you submit additional information to 

supplement the above. 
 

 

Pre-Season Items To Receive From BLM SRP Administrator: 
(You will receive the pre-season items listed below AFTER BLM receives the pre-season items 

listed above from YOU) 
 

___ 1. Pre-Season SRP Bill Pre-Season Bill requires you to pay at least the Minimum SRP Fee 

($105) or an annual revenue estimate agreed to by both the permittee and the authorized officer 

before any use occurs.   

 

___ 2. Annual Operating Authorization (AOA) You must receive this letter/authorization 

ANNUALLY.  Permits will not be valid without a valid ANNUAL Letter of Authorization 

(Annual Operating Authorization – AOA). 

 

___ 3. Permit Wallet Cards All guides/employees are required to carry with them verification of 

Special Recreation Permit and a map. The wallet cards are designed to make this an easier carry 

during operation. Please see that all guides/employees receive a permit wallet card and carry 

with them at ALL times. (Guide/owner maybe ask for this verification) NOTE: Wallet Cards 

should be held as property by the owner of the business, therefore any guide or employee must 

return wallet card to business/permit owner upon termination or end of season use. 

 

___ 4. Parking Passes Parking passes are wallet sized cards are to be placed in the driver side 

windshield of permittee’s vehicle(s) while parked on Public Land. All vehicles used for business 

operation under the permit shall be listed on the Operating Plan Validation Form. 

 

Annual POST-Season Item Needed: 
 

___ 1. Submit a Completed and Signed ACTUAL/POST USE ITINERARY, which includes 

the spreadsheet, and client contact information (unless participants are minors), and is DUE NO 

LATER THAN 30 DAYS AFTER YOUR LAST AUTHORIZED TRIP.  
 

POST-Season Items To Receive From BLM SRP Administrator: 
(You will receive the post-season items listed below AFTER BLM receives your Actual/Post 

Use Itinerary) 

 

___ 1. Post-Season Bill Post-Season Bill (if applicable), requires you to pay based on your 

Actual/Post Use minus your pre-season fees.  

Commercial Use Fee Payments are calculated at 3% of total projected client charges or a $100 

annual minimum, whichever is greater.  



Competitive Use Fee Payments are calculated at $5.00 per user day or 3% of gross receipts, 

whichever is greater.  

Individual or Organized Group Fee Payments are calculated at $5.00 per user day.  

 

___ 2. Post-Use Summary Report – Calculates total service days and post-use permit fee based 

on reported Actual/Post Use Itinerary. 

 

___ 3. Performance Evaluation - The BLM shall conduct periodic inspections and 

performance evaluations of the permittee's operations and compliance with the terms, 

conditions and stipulations of the Permit 
 

 

 

Please feel free to set up a face-to-face meeting with me at any time. Heather Salaz, Special 

Recreation Permit Administrator, contact 719-655-6116 or hsalaz@blm.gov 

 

 

mailto:hsalaz@blm.gov

