BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT Northwest Oregon District

Fire Prevention Order

Pursuant to title 43 CFR 9212.2 (a), the following acts are prohibited on the Northwest Oregon District, Bureau of Land Management, Marys Peak Field Office in the areas shown on Exhibit A to prevent human-caused fire and reduce wildfire potential. This order includes all Bureau of Land Management Lands within the Gooseneck Extended Recreation Management Area, Mill Creek Ridge Area of Critical Environmental Concern, and the Mill Creek Special Recreation Management Area. See attached map.

This prohibition will become effective at 12:01 a.m. (local time) on the 9th day of August 2018 and will remain in effect until further notice. These prohibitions are in addition to the prohibitions enacted on July 13, 2018.

PROHIBITION:

1. Discharging a firearm.

Exception: Discharging a firearm while legally hunting.

43 CFR 9212.1 (h)

- Camping, whether in a designated campsite or at a dispersed site.
 43 CFR 9212.1 (h)
- 3. Building, maintaining, attending, or using a fire, campfire, or stove fire, including charcoal briquettes.

Exception: Portable cooking stoves using liquefied or bottled fuels are allowed. 43 CFR 9212.1 (h)

Additionally, the following PROHIBITIONS announced on 13 July 2018 remain in effect:

1. Smoking while traveling in timber, brush, or grass areas, except in vehicles on roads or while stopped in an area at least three (3) feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable material.

43 CFR 9212.1 (h)

2. Operating any type of motorized vehicle except in on roadways clear of flammable vegetation. Parking of vehicles off roadways must be in an area barren of flammable material.

43 CFR 9212.1 (h)

- 3. Operating any type of motorized vehicle on the Northwest Oregon District, BLM, without the following:
 - a. One shovel not less than twenty-six (26) inches in overall length with a blade not less than eight (8) inches wide.
 - b. One water container of at least one (1) gallon filled to capacity, or a 2.5 pound fire extinguisher, ABC, fully charged.
 - c. One axe, with a handle twenty-six (26) inches in length and a head weight of not less than two (2) pounds.

43 CFR 9212.1 (h)

4. Operating a chain saw.

43 CFR 9212.1 (h)

Welding, or operating an acetylene or other torch with open flame.
 43 CFR 9212.1 (h)

Pursuant to Title 43 CFR 9212.3 (a), the following persons are exempt from this order:

- 1. Persons with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act.
- 2. Any federal, state, or local officer or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force while in the performance of an official duty.

Issued in Salem, Oregon on this 8th day of August 2018.

Violation of these prohibitions under Title 43 CFR is punishable by a fine of not more than \$1,000 or imprisonment of not more than twelve months, or both. Violations may also be subject to the enhanced fines provided for by Title 18 U.S.C. 3571 (\$100,000 and up to twelve months).

Jose Linares

Northwest Oregon District Manager