STATE OF ALASIA

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

FRANK H. MURKOWSKI, GOVERNOR

☐ 400 WILLOUGHBY AVENUE JUNEAU, ALASKA 99801-1796 PHONE: (907) 465-2400 FAX: (907) 465-3886

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA 99501-3650

PHONE: (907) 269-8431 FAX: (907) 269-8918

June 8, 2005

Henri Bisson Director, Alaska State Office Bureau of Land Management 222 W. 7th Avenue, #13 Anchorage, Alaska 99513-7599 BLM AK SO 952 ANCHORAGE, AK

Re: Amendment of the State's Recordable Disclaimer of Interest Applications

Dear Mr. Bisson,

Pursuant to 43 CFR §1864, the State of Alaska has filed applications for Recordable Disclaimers of Interests for the lands underlying the following waterbodies: Wood River and Lakes System (AA-085089); Tazlina Lake and River (AA-085086); Kasilof River (AA-85446); Salcha River (FF-94263); Stikine River (AA-85787); Chilkoot River and Lake (AA-85442); Chilkat River (AA-85444); Chilkat Lake (AA-85443); Tsirku River (AA-85447); and Klehini River (AA-85445).

In all of the individual applications for Recordable Disclaimers of Interest previously filed, the State claimed ownership of the submerged lands by virtue of the Equal Footing Doctrine. In addition, some of the applications claimed ownership of the bed of the waterbody based on the State's ownership of the adjacent uplands. The State hereby amends all its outstanding applications for Recordable Disclaimers of Interest to claim ownership based on the Equal Footing Doctrine; the Submerged Lands Act of May 22, 1953; the Alaska Statehood Act; the Submerged Lands Act of 1988; or any other legally cognizable reason. This amendment will permit the BLM to disclaim interest in the submerged lands on any of the grounds that may apply.

Sincerely,

— Thomas E. Irwin Commissioner

· Amendment to Recordable Disclaimer of Interest Applications June 6, 2005

Page 2 of 3

Michael Menge, Special Assistant for Natural Resources, Cc: Office of the Governor, P.O. Box 110001 Juneau, AK 99801-0001 David Marquez, Attorney General 1031 W 4th St., Ste. 200

Anchorage, AK 99501-1994

McKie Campbell, Commissioner, Department of Fish and Game, P.O. Box 25526, Juneau AK 99802-5526

Drue Pearce, Senior Advisor to the Secretary for Alaska Affairs, 1840 C Street NW, Washington, DC 20240

Cam Toohey, Special Assistant to the Secretary for Alaska, 1689 C Street, Suite100, Anchorage, AK 99501

Robert Loeffler, DNR, Division of Mining, Land and Water

Forrest Cole, Forest Supervisor, Tongass National Forest, 648 Mission, Federal Building, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6591

Denny Bschor, Regional Forester, U.S. Forest Service, Alaska Region, P.O. Box 21628, Juneau, AK 99802-1628

Barbara Stanley, Lands Specialist, Tongass National Forest, c/o Craig Ranger District, P.O. Box 705, Craig, Alaska 99921

Mayor, City of Wrangell, P.O. Box 531, Wrangell, AK 99929

Mayor, City of Petersburg, P.O. Box 329, Petersburg, AK 99833

Mayor, City of Kupreanof, P.O. Box 50, Petersburg, AK 99833

Chris E. McNeil Jr., President & CEO, Sealaska Regional Corporation, One Sealaska Plaza, Suite 400, Juneau, AK 99801-1276

Petersburg Indian Association, P.O. Box 1418, Petersburg, AK 99833 Wrangell Cooperative Association, P.O. Box 247, Wrangell, AK 99929

Rowan Gould, Regional Director, Alaska Region, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1011 E. Tudor Rd., Anchorage, AK 99503-6199

Robin West, Refuge Manager, Kenai National Wildlife Refuge, P.O. Box 2139, Soldotna, AK 99669-2139

Mayor, Kenai Peninsula Borough, 144 Binkley St., Soldotna, AK 99669 CIRI, P.O. Box 93330, Anchorage, AK 99509

Ninilchik Traditional Council, 701 W. 41st St., Anchorage, AK 99503 Ninilchik Native Association, 701 W. 41st St., Suite 201, Anchorage,

AK 99503-6604

Kenaitze Indian Tribe, P.O. Box 988, Kenai, AK 99611-0988 Bobby Andrew, President, Aleknagik Natives, Ltd., P.O. Box 1630, Dillingham, AK 99576

Lance Nunn, President, Choggiung, Ltd., P.O. Box 330, Dillingham, AK 99576

Hjalmar E. Olson, President/CEO, Bristol Bay Native Corporation, 800 Cordova Street, Suite 200, Anchorage, AK 99501

Curyung Tribal Council, P.O. Box 216, Dillingham, AK 99576

Ken Johns, President/CEO, Ahtna, Inc., P.O. Box 649, Glennallen, AK 99588

Native Village of Tazlina, P.O. Box 87, Glennallen, AK 99588 Orie Williams, President & CEO, Doyon, Limited, 1 Doyon Place, Ste. 300, Fairbanks, AK 99701

NCHOR. DS 00 DU 1N

Meddas Cha-ag Native Corporation, 457 Cindy Dr., Fairbanks, AK 99701 Healy Lake Traditional Council, P.O. Box 60300 – Healy Lake, No. 19, Fairbanks, AK 99706

Dot Lake Native Corporation, P.O. Box 2271, Dot Lake, AK 99737 Native Village of Dot Lake, P.O. Box 2272, Dot Lake, AK 99737

Colonel Donna G. Boltz, Garrison Commander, U.S. Army Garrison, Alaska, 600 Richardson Drive, Fort Richardson, AK 99505

Mayor, Haines Borough, P.O. Box 1209, Haines, AK 99827

Chris E. McNeil, Jr., President & CEO, Sealaska Corporation, One Sealaska Plaza, Suite 400, Juneau, AK, 99801-1276

Chilkat Indian Village of Klukwan, P.O. Box 210, Klukwan, AK 99827-0210 Central Council of Tlingit and Haida Tribes of Alaska,

320 W. Willoughby Ave., Suite 300, Juneau, AK 99801 Chilkoot Indian Association, P.O. Box 490, Haines, AK 99827-0490 Klawock Cooperative Association, P.O. Box 430, Klawock, AK 99925 Chilkat Indian Village of Klukwan, P.O. Box 210, Klukwan, AK 99827-0210 Klukwan, Incorporated, P.O. Box 209, Haines, AK 99827

