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FIRE PREVENTION ORDER 
BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT 

OREGON/WASHINGTON 

Pursuant to 43 CFR 9212.1(h) and 43 CFR 9212.2, the following special restrictions and prohibitions are 
established on all public lands administered by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) in Oregon and 
Washington beginning at 12:01 a.m. PST on May 15, 2025, until 11:59 p.m. PST on October 31, 2025, or 
until rescinded.  

Acts Prohibited Under This Order 

1. Discharging or using fireworks or pyrotechnic devices.
2. Discharging or using combustible or explosive composition or chemical devices, including but not

limited to exploding targets.
3. Discharging or using tracer, explosive, steel component (core or jacket), or incendiary ammunition.
4. Releasing or causing to be released any sky lanterns, airborne paper lanterns, aerial luminaries,

and/or fire balloons.
5. Shooting at any metallic object, including but not limited to using metal targets for target shooting.

Persons Exempted from This Order  
Pursuant to 43 CFR 9212.3, the BLM may issue permits to persons to specifically authorize them to engage 
in acts otherwise prohibited under this order.  

Pursuant to 43 CFR 9212.2(b)(3), the following are exempt from this order. An exemption does not 
necessarily absolve an individual or organization from liability or responsibility for any fire caused by an 
exempted activity.  

1. Any Federal, state, or local government employee acting in his or her official capacity.
2. Any member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force during performance of an official duty.
3. Persons with a valid state hunting license actively engaged in the legal take/pursuit of game/non-

game species in accordance with the current hunting seasons.

Penalties for Violations 
Anyone in violation of this Fire Prevention Order may be subject to civil liability or criminal prosecution 
under any applicable law or BLM regulation. A violation of this Order may be classified as a Class A 
Misdemeanor Offense under 43 USC 1733(a) FLPMA , 18 USC 3559. Pursuant to 18 USC 3571, if the 
violation does not result in death, anyone who violates this order may be fined not more than $100,000 and/or 
imprisoned for not more than 12 months.  Liability for total fire suppression and damage costs incurred will 
be borne by the responsible party.  

__________________________ 
Barry R. Bushue  
State Director 
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