

## **Fire Prevention Order**

Department of the Interior Bureau of Land Management Idaho State Office

Under the authority of the Federal Land Policy and Management Act of 1976 (43 U.S.C. 1701 et. seq.) and pursuant to 43 CFR 9212.2, the following fire prevention orders are issued. These orders are in addition to prohibited acts found in 43 CFR 9212.1.

## **State and Local Laws**

In the interest of Wildfire Prevention, Public Safety, and in compliance with 43 CFR 9212.2 requiring Bureau of Land Management actions to complement and support state and local Wildfire Prevention, all state and local Wildfire Prevention Laws and Regulations shall apply to all Bureau of Land Management lands within the State of Idaho.

## **Acts Restricted by Fire Prevention Order**

On all public lands administered by the Bureau of Land Management within the State of Idaho, unless otherwise authorized in writing, the following actions are prohibited:

- Discharging, using or possessing fireworks.
- Discharging a firearm using incendiary (prohibited year-round), tracer (prohibited year-round) or steel component ammunition.
- Shooting at steel or ferrous material(s) in an area with dry vegetation.
- Burning, igniting or possessing exploding targets.
- Burning, igniting or causing to burn explosive material.

## **Acts Recommended by Fire Prevention Order**

• Possession of shovel, fire extinguisher and/or at least 5 gallons of water while target shooting in the event of an unintentional fire start.

Additional restrictions may be enacted based upon future fuel and weather conditions.

Title 43 CFR 9212.0-5, 9212.1,9212.2 and 9212.4 wildfire prevention provides that anyone in violation of this Fire Prevention Order may be subject to civil liability or criminal prosecution under any applicable law or BLM regulation. A violation of this Order may be classified as a Class A Misdemeanor Offense under 43 USC 1733(a) FLPMA, 18 USC 3559. Pursuant to 18 USC 3571, if the violation does not result in death, anyone who violates this order may be fined not more than \$100,000 and/or imprisoned for not more than 12 months. Liability for total fire suppression and damage costs incurred will be borne by the responsible party.

These Fire Prevention Orders will remain in effect from May 10 to October 20, 2025.		
June Shoemaker, Acting State Director	Date of Issue	