

# United States Department of the Interior



BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT New Mexico State Office 301 Dinosaur Trail Santa Fe, New Mexico 87508 https://www.blm.gov/new-mexico

### FIRE PREVENTION ORDER # NM910-25-01 - AMENDED

Pursuant to 43 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) §9212.1(h), the following acts are prohibited on all Bureau of Land Management (BLM) areas, lands, roads, waterways, and trails, in the State of New Mexico. This order shall go into effect at 12:01a.m., MST, January 1, 2025 through December 31, 2025.

### Acts prohibited under this order:

The discharging, using, or possessing of any fireworks, combustible or explosive composition or any kind, or any substance or combination of substances or articles prepared for the purpose of producing a visible or audible effect by combustion, explosion, deflagration, or detonation. This includes, but is not limited to, incendiary or chemical devices, pyrotechnic devices, binary explosives or exploding targets.

## Persons exempted from this order:

Any federal, state, local and/or military employee acting within the scope of their duties; members of any organized rescue or firefighting force performing official duty; and persons, agencies, municipalities, or companies with written permit that specifically authorizes the otherwise prohibited act. All other necessary exemptions to these restrictions, will be handled through local permits issued at the district or field office level. An exemption does not absolve an individual or organization from liability or responsibility for any fire started by an exempted activity.

#### **Penalties for violating this order:**

Anyone who is found guilty of violating a fire prevention order may be subject to prosecution under any applicable law or BLM regulation. A violation of this order may be classified as a Class A Misdemeanor Offense under 43 USC 1733(a) FLPMA, 18 USC 3559, and 18 USC 3571 Sentence of Fine - Sentencing Reform Act, Oct. 12, 1984. If the violation does not result in death, anyone who violates this order may be fined not more than \$100,000 and/or imprisoned for not more than 12 months, or may be fined in accordance with the applicable provisions of 18 USC 3571. Restitution for total fire suppression and damage costs incurred will be borne by the responsible party.

#### **Contact:**

Albuquerque District: 505-761-8700 Las Cruces District: 575-525-4300 Farmington District: 505-564-7600 Pecos District: 575-627-0272

For geolocatable and printable maps of these restrictions, please visit:

www.blm.gov/programs/public-safety-and-fire/fire-and-aviation/regional-info/new-mexico/fire-restrictions.

Digitally signed by MELANIE

BARNES

Date: 2025.01.23 16:54:11 -07'00'

January 23, 2025

Melanie G. Barnes State Director

Melanie Ce. Ban

Date