Mining Claims and Sites Annual Filing Requirements

2023 Assessment Year

The annual due date for filing is no later than September 1, 2022. We are strongly urging claimants to pay their annual maintenance fees online via the BLM Mineral & Land Records System (MLRS). This will be the quickest way to get your paperwork processed and returned. Review packet for more information on the <u>Mineral & Land Records System</u>.



Introducing the Mineral & Land Records System (MLRS) Trending Help Articles

- Mining claimants can still mail in their annual maintenance fee payments and forms. Our Information Access Center (Public Room) is open for inperson filing.
- Maintenance fee waiver certifications (an originally signed document is required for the waiver) can only be mailed. **Reminder:** If you are submitting the maintenance fee waiver certification and you are signing on behalf of someone else, a current signing authority is required with the waiver (**the authority cannot be older than five years**).
- Please ensure you can see a readable postmark date of on or before September 1 to prevent forfeiture of your claim or site by operation of law.
- Workload amounts are high. If you need your original filing right away, consider submitting a duplicate or copy (except on waivers where original is required).

Mailing Address: BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT Utah State Office Attn: Mining Claims 440 West 200 South, Suite 500 Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1434

To file in the Information Access Center (Public Room):

<u>In-person hours:</u> 7:45 a.m.-4:30 pm., Monday-Friday Phone: 801-539-4001 For questions, contact via phone or email: <u>blm_ut_so_public_room@blm.gov</u>



United States Department of the Interior



BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT Utah State Office 440 West 200 South, Suite 500 Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1434

In Reply Refer To: 3833 (UT9223-KF)

REMINDER *** REMINDER *** REMINDER MINING CLAIM AND SITE FILING REQUIREMENTS FOR <u>2023</u> ASSESSMENT YEAR

If you own unpatented mining claims or sites on Federal lands, your annual maintenance fee payments or maintenance fee waiver certification, Form 3830-2, (waiver) are due on or before September 1, 2022, in the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) State Office of the State where your claims or sites are located. The BLM Utah State Office address is above. Failure to timely pay the fee or file the waiver in the proper BLM office, will subject your claims or sites to forfeiture by operation of law.

The maintenance fees for a lode claim, mill site or tunnel site are \$165 per claim or site. The fee for placer claims is \$165 for each 20 acres of the claim or portion thereof. For instance, if a placer claim contains 70 acres, you must pay \$660 for the maintenance fee (\$165 for each 20 acres + \$165 for 10 acres).

Conveniently pay your maintenance fees online using the Mineral & Land Records System (MLRS)! If you are a registered MLRS user, you may pay your maintenance fees with a credit card, debit card or ACH payment online (except for claims or sites in Alaska) at <u>https://mlrs.blm.gov/</u>. Payments made online must be made on or before midnight, September 1, 2022, **Eastern Daylight Time**. If paying online, there is no need to send any notification to the BLM State Office that manages your claims or sites. Treasury limits apply to credit card payments (the current Treasury limit for credit card payments is \$24,999.99). Even though there are no Treasury limits for debit card or ACH payments, you should contact your bank to verify any restrictions they may have for such payments. After you complete your transaction, you will receive confirmation of your payment via the email address you use for MLRS, and the BLM State Office where your claims or sites are recorded will have a receipt of the transaction. Five days after you make your payment, you can also verify that your payment was recorded by running a report of your claims or sites at <u>https://reports.blm.gov/reports/MLRS</u>.

Step by step instructions can be found online at:

- Learn how to register here:
 - For individuals: <u>https://mlrs.blm.gov/s/article/How-to-Create-a-Personal-Account-in-the-Community</u>

INTERIOR REGION 7 • UPPER COLORADO BASIN

- For businesses: <u>https://mlrs.blm.gov/s/article/How-to-Create-a-Business-Account-in-the-Community</u>
- Learn how to use MLRS to pay maintenance fees here:
 - o https://mlrs.blm.gov/s/article/How-will-I-pay-my-annual-maintenance-fees
- Waiver Requirements: You may file the waiver if you and all related parties own 10 or fewer claims or sites nationwide on September 1, 2022. Form 3830-2 (attached) must be used and must contain original signatures of each owner and include their current mailing address. If an agent signs the waiver on your behalf, you must have a current notarized designation that the agent is authorized to sign on your behalf. This designation should be submitted with your waiver if not already on file with the BLM, or if the one on file with the BLM is over 5 years old. There is no processing fee when filing the waiver. Faxed or emailed waivers are not acceptable and will be returned unrecorded.

FLPMA Document Filings: If you filed a waiver for the 2022 assessment year, you must also file the following on or before December 30, 2022, to complete that filing:

- For placer or lode claims, an affidavit of assessment work (proof of labor) attesting that you performed at least \$100 worth of labor to make improvements on each of your claims, during the 2022 assessment year, along with a \$15 processing fee for each claim; or
- For mill sites and tunnel sites, a notice of intent to hold, along with a \$15 processing fee for each site.

• Learn how to use MLRS to file your FLPMA document:

• <u>https://mlrs.blm.gov/s/article/How-to-File-an-Affidavit-of-Assessment-Work</u>

Forms can be found online at **http://www.blm.gov/noc/st/en/business/eForms.html**. It is highly recommended that your proof of labor or notice of intent to hold, along with your processing fee, be submitted at the same time your waiver is filed.

Please make sure you submit the correct amount of processing fees with these documents.



United States Department of the Interior

BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT Utah State Office 440 West 200 South, Suite 500 Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1345



In Reply Refer To: 3715, 3802, 3809, 3814 (UT-9223)

May 6, 2021

Notification Prior to Conducting Surface Disturbing Activities on your Mining Claim

The filling of your claim/site with the Utah State Office of the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) does not convey an authorization to conduct operations (explore, develop, occupy or mine) on your claim/site. You must first contact the Federal agency which administers the surface and mineral estate and follow their agency's regulations before conducting any surface disturbing activities.

If your location is on lands administered by the BLM, you should review the 43 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 3715, 3802, 3809 and 3814 regulations to determine which are applicable to activities you may be planning. Please be aware that a notice level operation is exploration activity creating a surface disturbance of 5 acres or less. A plan of operations is required for all mining activity and bulk sampling removing more than 1,000 tons of presumed ore for testing and exploration exceeding 5 acres. A plan of operations is also required for any operation other than casual use in the following special status areas: (1) lands in the California Desert Conservation Area (CDCA) designated by CDCA plan as "controlled" or "limited" use areas, (2) area in the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System and areas designated for potential addition to the system; (3) designated Areas of Critical Environmental Concern; (4) areas designated as part of the National Wilderness Preservation System and administered by BLM; (5) areas designated as closed to off- road vehicle use as defined in 43 CFR 8340.0-5; (6) any lands or waters known to contain Federally proposed or listed threatened or endangered species or their proposed or designated critical habitat, unless BLM allows for other action under a formal land-use plan or threatened or endangered species recovery plan; and (7) National Monuments and National Conservation Areas administered by BLM. The 3715, 3802, 3809 and 3814 regulations may be viewed via the Internet at http://www.gpoaccess.gov/ecfr (Title 43). You may also obtain a copy of these regulations from the closest BLM office (see the list of contacts on the back of this page).

Exploration and mining activities on lands administered by the Forest Service are subject to the regulations of the Secretary of Agriculture at 36 CFR 228 Subpart A-Locatable Minerals. Please contact the Forest Service office closest to you for more information.

You must also permit all mining and exploration activities with the Utah Division of Oil, Gas and Mining prior to beginning operations in Utah. You can contact the Division of Oil, Gas and Mining, Minerals Reclamation Program at (801) 538-5261.

Thank you for your cooperation. If you have any questions concerning this matter, please contact Terry Snyder, Utah State Office Solid Minerals Branch Chief, at (801) 539-4026.

INTERIOR REGION 7 • UPPER COLORADO BASIN

NAME	OFFICE	PHONE	FAX
Jonathan Mallory jmallory@blm.gov 1 vacancy	Salt Lake Field Office 491 North John Glenn Road Salt Lake City, Utah 84116	801-320-8360	801-363-0260
James Holland jholland@blm.gov	Kanab Field Office 669 South Hwy 89A Kanab, Utah 84741	435-644-1277	435-644-1250
Ed Ginouves eginouve@blm.gov	Cedar City Field Office 176 East D.L. Sargent Drive Cedar City, Utah 84721	435-865-3040	435-865-3058
Duties shifted to Ed Ginouves, Samuel Marolt and Devin Mclemore	St. George Field Office 345 E. Riverside Drive St. George, Utah 84790	435- 688-3244	435- 688-3258
Devin Mclemore dmclemore@blm.gov	Richfield Field Office (Also covers Henry Mountains Field Station area- East and West side of Richfield Field Office)	435-896-1563	435-896-1550
Samuel Marolt <u>smarolt@blm.gov</u>	150 East 900 North Richfield, Utah 84701	435-896-1531	
Stephanie deGraffenried sdegraffenried@blm.gov	Fillmore Field Office 95 East 500 North	435-743-3115	435-743-3135
	Fillmore, Utah 84631	435-743-3121	
Devin Mclemore <u>dmclemore@blm.gov</u>	Henry Mountains Field Station 380 South 100 West, P.O. Box 99	435-896-1563	435-542-3016
Samuel Marolt <u>smarolt@blm.gov</u>	Hanksville, Utah 84734 Geologist located in Richfield	435-896-1531	433-342-3010
Jennifer Whittington jwhittington@blm.gov	Moab Field Office 82 East Dogwood Avenue Moab, Utah 84532	435-259-2113	435-259-2106
Rebecca Anderson <u>rkanderson@blm.gov</u>	Price Field Office 125 South 600 West Price, Utah 84501	435-636-3661	435-636-3657
Robert James <u>rjames@blm.gov</u>	Monticello Field Office 365 North Main Street P.O. Box 7 Monticello, Utah 84535	435-587-1524	435-587-1518
Garrett Manion gmanion@blm.gov	Vernal Field Office	435-781-4436	425 701 4410
Vincent Cunningham vcunningham@blm.gov	170 South 500 East Vernal, Utah 84078	435-781-2777	435-781-4410
Terry Snyder Solids Minerals Branch Chief <u>tsnyder@blm.gov</u>	Utah State Office 440 West 200 South, Suite 500 Salt Lake City, UT 84101	801-539-4026	801-539-4260
Larry Garahana Certified Mineral Examiner <u>lgarahan@blm.gov</u>	Sur Lake City, 01 07101	801-539-4087	

WAIVER CERTIFICATION FILING-UTAH CLAIM/SITE

If you do not qualify for a waiver of the maintenance fee—then you must pay the annual maintenance fee on or before the due date. If you apply for the waiver and you exceed the 10 claim limit, your claims may be forfeited for failure to pay the fee.

If you qualify for the **WAIVER, the CERTIFICATION, BLM Form 3830-2, must be filed with the BLM on or before September 1st** and is filed for the upcoming assessment year. No fee is required when filing the waiver with the BLM. To qualify for a small miner waiver, all claimants must have 10 or less claims and claimant must complete the assessment work for the following assessment years:

- 1. The assessment year prior to the assessment year that you are applying for the waiver (current year); and
- 2. The assessment year that the maintenance fee is waived (upcoming year).

See Regulations 43 CFR 3835 for maintenance fee waiver qualifications and other exceptions.

WHAT YOU MUST DO if you are applying for a waiver of the maintenance fees:

- ____List claim names and BLM serial numbers on the certification;
- ____ List all claimant names and addresses on the certification;
- ____ All claimants must sign the waiver certification to certify that they own 10 or less claims;
- _____ File the original waiver certification with the original signatures with the BLM Utah State Office at 440 W. 200 S., Ste. 500, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (You cannot file the waiver certification form online through MLRS) (Utah claims/sites);
- ____ File a copy of the proof of labor (POL) with the BLM prior to Dec. 30 for the assessment years stated above (if possible, file along with the waiver certification);
- File the original POL with the proper county recorder's office prior to Sept. 30 (Utah) for the assessment years stated above; and
- ____ Pay the <u>\$15 processing fee</u> per claim/site when filing the <u>proof of labor</u> with the BLM.

The Individual signing on behalf of a company, other individual, etc., must have signing authority, please submit signing authority document along with the waiver certification. <u>Must submit current document every 3 years.</u>

If a claimant that is applying for a waiver has transferred or wishes to relinquish (abandon) some claims, the transfer or relinquishment documents must be effective or filed prior to September 1st.

If you have any questions, call the BLM Utah Information Access Center at (801) 539-4001.

NOTE: IF A CLAIMANT AND/OR CO-CLAIMANT FILE A WAIVER FOR AN ASSESSMENT YEAR AND THEN ACQUIRE ADDITIONAL CLAIMS (BY TRANSFER OR LOCATING NEW CLAIMS) AND HAVE MORE THAN TEN CLAIMS/SITES IN THE SAME YEAR, YOU NO LONGER QUALIFY FOR THE WAIVER AND THE MAINTENANCE FEE MUST BE PAID FOR THE ASSESSMENT YEAR THAT THE FEE WAS WAIVED.

Notice of Intention to Hold

(example form)

(only use this notice if you apply for a waiver of the maintenance fee and are not required to complete assessment work)

Pursuant to the Federal Land Policy and Management Act of 1976 and 43 CFR 3835

_____(claimant/agent), _____

(address)

has applied for the waiver of the annual maintenance fee and intend to hold the claims/sites listed below. This Notice of Intention to Hold is filed in lieu of the proof of labor for annual assessment year ending September 1, <u>2022</u>, because:

- \Box assessment work is <u>not</u> required in the assessment year the claim was located.
- <u>no</u> affidavit of assessment work is required for mill or tunnel sites.
- maintenance fee was paid to maintain the claim or site during assessment year.
- □ Other reason recognized under Federal Law:

Mining Claim/Site Name(s)	BLM Serial Number(s)	

Signature:	Date:	
(Notarize	d signature-if recording with the county recorder)	

(This is an example form. Notice of intend to hold documents must be recorded with the BLM (processing <u>fee is \$15</u> per claim/site) and the proper county recorder's office. A notice of intent to hold may be filed when the assessment work is <u>not</u> required under 43 CFR 3835.31.)