U.S. Department of the Interior

Bureau of Land Management

Fire Prevention Order COF02-19-02
Stage 2 Fire Restrictions

Royal Gorge Field Office

Due to dry conditions and high fire danger, under authority of the Federal Land Policy and
Management Act of 1976 (Title 43, United States Code, Section 1701, et. seq.) pursuant to Title 43,
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 9212.2(a), the Bureau of Land Management Royal Gorge Field
Office is implementing fire restrictions for all BLM-administered public lands within the
boundaries of Park, Teller, El Paso, Fremont, Custer, Pueblo, Otero, Bent, Huerfano, Las Animas,
and Baca counties beginning May 19, 2022.

Under Stage 2 Fire Restrictions the following acts are prohibited:

. Building, maintaining, attending, or using a fire, campfire, charcoal barbecue, or grills are
prohibited on federal lands. The use of portable stoves, lanterns using gas, jellied petroleum, or
pressurized liquid fuel are permitted.

. Smoking, except in an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site, or while stopped
in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.
. Operating a chainsaw without a USDA or SAE approved spark arrester properly installed and

working, a chemical fire extinguisher of not less than 8 ounces capacity by weight, and one round
point shovel with an overall length of at least 36 inches.

. Using a welder, either arc or gas, or operating acetylene or other torch with open flame.

. Using exploding targets.

These fire restrictions are in addition to the year-round wildfire prevention restrictions on BLM-
administered public lands in Colorado. These are:

. Leaving a fire unattended or unextinguished.

. Possession, discharge or use of any fireworks.

. Discharge of a firearm using incendiary or tracer ammunition.

. Burn, ignite or cause to burn any tire, wire, magnesium, or any other hazardous or explosive
material.

. Operate any off-road vehicle on public lands unless the vehicle is equipped with a properly

installed spark arrester pursuant to 43 CFR 8343.1 (c).

The following persons are exempt from this order:

1. Persons with a permit or letter of authorization specifically authorizing the prohibited act or
omission.

2. Persons using a fire fueled solely by liquid petroleum or LPG fuels

3. Any Federal, State, or local officer or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force in the

performance of an official duty.

Executed in Canon City, Colorado, Effective May 19, 2022.

Digitally signed by KEITH
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.. Date: 2022.05.17 15:18:53 -06'00'
Agency Administrator

Violation of this Fire Prevention Order is punishable by a fine of not more than $100,000, or imprisonment of not
more than 12 months, or both. (43 CFR 9212.4 and 18 U.S.C. 3571). Restitution for total suppression and damage
costs incurred will be borne by the violator.
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