NPR-A Working Group

Fact Sheet - Arctic Office

What is the NPR-A Working Group?

The NPR-A Working Group is an advisory body to the BLM made up of the elected leaders of North Slope Borough regional entities (the North Slope Borough, Iñupiat Community of the Arctic Slope, and Arctic Slope Regional Corporation) and the Mayor of each incorporated city, the President of each Tribal Government, and the President of each village ANCSA corporation in the NSB. The NPR-A Working Group was established to consult directly with the BLM on large-scale land management decisions in the NPR-A.

Working Group Meetings

The Working Group will hold at least one in-person meeting each year, convened at a single location at the call of the Chair or Authorized Officer, and currently holds monthly teleconferences. The public is invited to call in and listen to the NPR-A Working Group teleconference meetings but does not participate in the Working Group's discussions. NPR-A Working Group teleconferences are held the third Thursday of every month at 9 AM. The call in number is 1-866-566-6183 and the passcode is 3067503 #.

What is the Role of the NPR-A Working Group

The NPR-A Working Group was established by the February 2013 Record of Decision (ROD) for the NPR-A Final Integrated Activity Plan/Environmental Impact Statement (IAP/EIS) based on input from the NSB government, other North Slope communities, and regional organizations. The primary objective of the NPR-A Working Group is to provide a forum for ongoing meaningful and regular input regarding the implementation of the 2013 NPR-A IAP/EIS, including oil and gas leasing, land use conflicts, and infrastructure projects supporting onshore and offshore oil and gas development such as production facilities and pipelines. The Working Group may also serve as a forum to collect additional scientific information and traditional ecological knowledge about wildlife and its habitat and to inform potential boundary adjustments to special areas. The Working Group may utilize smaller focus groups to work on particular issues.

Who is on the NPR-A Working Group?

Entity	Primary Representative	Designated Alternate Representative
North Slope Borough	Mayor Harry Brower, Jr.	David J (DJ) Fauske
Iñupiat Community of the Arctic Slope	George Olemaun	George Edwardsen or Doreen Lampe
Arctic Slope Regional Corporation	Rex Rock, Sr.	Crawford Patkotak (Current NPR-A Working Group Co-Chair)
City of Point Hope	Jack Schaeffer	TBD
Tikiġak Corporation	Herbert Kinneeveauk, Jr.	Sayers Tuzroyluk

Entity	Primary Representative	Designated Alternate Representative
Native Village of Point Hope	Eva Kinneeveauk	TBD
Cully Corporation	Marty Awalin	TBD
Native Village of Point Lay	Marie Tracey	TBD
City of Wainwright	John Hopson, Jr. (Current NPR-A Working Group Co-Chair)	TBD
Native Village of Wainwright	Howard Patkotak	TBD
Olgoonik Corporation	Steve Segevan	Theresa Clark
City of Atqasuk	Doug Whiteman	TBD
Native Village of Atqasuk	Elizabeth Hollingsworth	TBD
Atqasuk Corporation	Margaret Angasuk	Fanny Akpik
City of Anaktuvuk Pass	Justus Mekiana, Jr.	Esther Hugo
Naqsraġmiut Tribal Council	Charles Hugo	TBD
Nunamiut Corporation	Larry Burris	Riley Sikvayugak
City of Kaktovik	Nora Jane Burns	TBD, poss. Carla Sims Kayutok
Kaktovik Inupiat Corporation	Phillip Tikluk	TBD
Native Village of Kaktovik	Edward Rexford, Sr.	TBD
City of Barrow	Bob Harcharek	Qaiyaan Harcharek
Native Village of Barrow	Thomas Olemaun	Dorothy Edwardsen
Ukpeaġvik Iñupiat Corporation	Anthony Edwardsen	Delbert Rexford and Lars Nelson, Vernon Edwardsen
City of Nuiqsut	Thomas Napageak	TBD, poss. Jimmy Oyaguk poss. David Arnold
Native Village of Nuiqsut	Margaret Pardue (acting)	NVN Council Members and Admin. Assistants
Kuukpik Corporation	Joe Nukapigak	Mark Foster

The NPR-A Working Group reports to the Authorized Officer of the Bureau of Land Management, currently defined as Stacie McIntosh, the Manager of the BLM Arctic Office. Questions about the NPR-A Working Group can be directed to Stacie McIntosh at s05mcint@blm.gov or (907) 474-2310.