## **Fire Prevention Order**

## Northern California District, Redding Field Office Order Number CA-360-19-01

In compliance with **Title 43 Code of Federal Regulations, Section 9212.2,** the following acts are **prohibited** on Public Lands, roads within the Bureau of Land Management, Redding Field Office jurisdiction beginning July 1<sup>st</sup>, 2019, and continuing until further notice:

- 1. Build, maintain, attend, or use any open fire, campfire, charcoal barbecue or stove except at the following posted and designated fire use campsites: Forks of Butte Primitive Campground in Butte County, Shasta Campground and Bohemotash Primitive Campground in Chappie-Shasta OHV area, Junction City Campground, Steel Bridge Campground, and Douglas City Campground in Trinity County. Steiner Flat primitive camping area is portable stove use only no campfires or charcoal barbeque permitted. Portable stoves using gas, jelled petroleum or pressurized liquid fuel are exempt from this restriction with a valid "Camp Fire Permit" available at any CALFIRE, Forest Service or BLM office, or online at: PreventWildfireCA.org.
- 2. It is illegal to operate any portable tool or device powered by an internal combustion engine off of established roads or trails on Public Lands. Chainsaws with functional spark arresters used for firewood cutting will be allowed until 1:00 P.M. each day.
- 3. It is illegal to smoke, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, or at a designated developed recreation site, or other designated areas.
- 4. It is illegal to possess or use a motorized vehicle off established roads or trails on public lands.
- 5. It is illegal to possess or discharge any fireworks, including "safe and sane," on all public lands.
- 6. It is illegal to possess or discharge any ammunition with a steel jacket, steel core, armor piercing, tracer, exploding type projectile, or any other incendiary type ammunition or device. Targets made of material that emit sparks or explode are prohibited. Target shooting is allowed from ½ hour before sunrise until 12:00 noon. **Persons engaged in target shooting shall have a shovel or a fire extinguisher available to extinguish a small fire.** Nonlead ammunition is not restricted for persons hunting on BLM-managed public lands. Hunters must abide by State of California laws and regulations.

Pursuant to 43 CFR 9212.2 (3), the following persons are exempt from this order: Anyone with a special-use permit, specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or any Federal, State, or local Officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force in the performance of an official duty.

Violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than \$1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 12 months, or both. (*Title 43, C.F.R. 9212.4*)

For questions, please call (530) 224-2100, Monday – Friday, 7:45 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.