

Fire Prevention Order

Northern California District, Redding Field Office

CA-360-21-02

Due to dry conditions and high fire danger, the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Redding Field Office is amending Fire Order CA-360-21-01 to prohibit all campfires at the Forks of Butte Primitive Campground in Butte County. Visitors may not build, maintain, attend, or use any campfire or charcoal barbecue. Portable stoves using gas, jelled petroleum or pressurized liquid fuel are exempt from this restriction with a valid California Campfire Permit available at any CAL FIRE, Forest Service or BLM office, or online at:PreventWildfireCA.org. This order is issued under the authority of the Federal Land Policy and Management Act of 1976 (43 U.S.C. 1701, *et. seq.*) and pursuant to 43 CFR §9212.2. This campfire prohibition is in effect starting July 31, 2021, until further notice. All other provisions of Fire Order CA-360-21-01 remain in effect until further notice.

In the interest of wildfire prevention, public safety, and in compliance with 43 C.F.R. §9212.2, these BLM actions complement and support state and local wildfire prevention laws and regulations, which apply to all BLM-managed lands within California.

Acts prohibited and defined under this order:

- Setting, building, maintaining, attending, or using a campfire or charcoal BBQ is prohibited at Forks of Butte Campground.
- Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or camp trailer or while stopped/standing in a designated developed campground with a three-foot diameter area barren or cleared of all flammable materials and away from federal facility doors, windows and air ducts.
- The possession or operating of any welding, acetylene device or other open flame torch that uses oxygen and fuel gases to weld and cut steel or metallic components. Welding and torch definitions and direction pursuant to 43 CFR §912.2, U.S. Department of Labor- Occupational Safety and Health Administration 1910.252(a).
- Possessing, discharging, using or allowing the use of fireworks, pyrotechnic or incendiary devices.

Exemptions:

Pursuant to Title 43, CFR §9212.2, the following persons are exempt from this order: Anyone with a special-use permit, specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or any Federal, State, or local Officer, or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force in the performance of an official duty.

Penalties for violating this order:

Anyone who is found guilty of violating a fire prevention order, which may be classified as a Class A Misdemeanor Offense under 43 USC 1733(a) FLPMA, 18 USC 3559, and 18 USC 3571 Sentence of Fine - Sentencing Reform Act, Oct. 12, 1984, that does not result in death, may be fined not more than \$100,000 and/or imprisonment for not more than 12 months, or in accordance with the applicable provisions of 18 USC 3571. Restitution for total fire suppression and damage costs incurred may be borne by the trespasser.

Additional Information

An interactive map of current restrictions and Fire Prevention Orders are available at: <u>https://www.blm.gov/programs/public-safety-and-fire/fire-and-aviation/regional-info/california/fire-restrictions</u>.

This Fire Prevention Order is effective 12:01 PM, on the 31st day of July 2021 and will remain in effect until further notice.

Jennifer Mata, Field Office Manager, BLM Redding Field Office