UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT NATIONAL PETROLEUM RESERVE IN ALASKA NPR-A WORKING GROUP

BYLAWS and OPERATING PROCEDURES

1. Official Designation: The Working Group is designated the NPR-A Working Group.

2. Objectives and Scope of Activity:

- 2.1. The objective of the working group is to ensure that BLM's land managers, and other federal, State, and local agencies engage in a continuing dialogue with North Slope residents in order to:
 - Understand North Slope resident's economic, subsistence, and other local concerns in activities in the NPR-A;
 - Gather scientific and traditional ecological knowledge related to key issues that arise during development and implementation of BLM planning documents;
 - Provide recommendations from local residents and institutions, along with recommendations of other permitting agencies with relevant expertise, on an ongoing basis.
- 2.2. The Working Group will consist of representatives of North Slope local governments, Native corporations, and tribal entities as well as a non-voting representative of the State of Alaska. The Working Group is expected to exist into the foreseeable future.
- **3. Official to Whom the Working Group Reports:** The Working Group reports to the Authorized Officer (AO) of the Bureau of Land Management. For purposes of the NPR-A Working Group, the Authorized Officer is defined as the Field Manager, Arctic Field Office or his/her designated representative.
- 4. Support Services: Administrative support for the activities of the working group will be provided by the BLM. The BLM will work to secure long-term funding to support the activities of the working group. It is anticipated that BLM will develop contracts or agreements to provide support for the working group such as meeting space, audio-visual support, telecommunications support, travel, lodging and meals for participants. The contracts may also provide for working with the group membership and AO to create the agenda, typing minutes and notes, and providing other information requested by the Working Group on an as-needed basis.
- 5. Duties of the Working Group: The Working Group will perform the following duties:
 - 5.1. Discuss local concerns relevant to project development and implementation of BLM planning decisions with the BLM and other entities working on the North Slope;
 - 5.2. Review scientific research or monitoring projects in the NPR-A and provide recommendations on ways to maximize the value of research and monitoring to local residents and institutions while mitigating impacts to industry, as well as to federal, State, and local regulators;
 - 5.3. Identify and discuss recommendations by local residents and institutions regarding mitigation measures that BLM can apply to minimize impacts to resources, resource use and habitat;

- 5.4. Identify and discuss recommendations by local residents and institutions regarding areas where additional protection of surface values should be considered; and,
- 5.5. Identify and discuss recommendations by local residents and institutions regarding potential amendments to BLM planning documents.
- 6. Estimated Operating Costs: Annual operating costs for the Working Group are estimated at \$50,000, which includes a half person-year of staff support.
- 7. Meetings: The Working Group may convene at a single location at least once each year at the call of the Chair or Authorized Officer. Ideally, the Working Group will meet face-to-face twice a year. A recurring teleconference meeting will be held quarterly. The agenda for the recurring teleconference will be sent out one week prior to the meeting. Additional teleconferences may be scheduled at the call of the Chair or Authorized Officer if needed to address a specific issue or topic.
- 8. Working sessions: The Working Group may, from time to time, utilize smaller groups such as Steering Committees or subcommittees to work on particular issues, generally to prepare materials for consideration of the full Working Group.
- **9. Quorum:** A quorum to conduct official business will consist of seven voting representatives. "Official business" is defined as making a formal recommendation or resolution to the Authorized Officer of the BLM. The voting members of the Working Group include the representatives of the three regional entities, and the 12 representatives from the communities of: Atqasuk, Barrow, Nuiqsut and Wainwright, which are located within the boundary of the NPR-A. For the purposes of establishing a quorum, a designee filling in for a representative will count as a voting representative. Representatives from the communities outside the boundary of the NPR-A, Anaktuvuk Pass, Kaktovik, Point Hope and Point Lay, will participate in all meetings and discussions, and will vote in official business that has been determined to have a direct impact on their community.

10. Membership: The Working Group's membership is as follows:

Regional Entities - Arctic Slope Regional Corporation, North Slope Borough, and the Inupiaq Community of the Arctic Slope: The President of the Arctic Slope Regional Corporation, Mayor of the North Slope Borough and the President of the Inupiaq Community of the Arctic Slope are members of the working group. These officials may each identify a designee to represent them at Working Group meetings and other activities.

ANCSA Village Corporations for Wainwright, Atqasuk, Barrow, Nuiqsut, Anaktuvuk Pass, Point Hope, Point Lay, and Kaktovik: The Presidents of these eight entities are members of the working group. These officials may each identify a designee to represent them at Working Group meetings and other activities.

IRA Tribal Governments for Wainwright, Atqasuk, Barrow, Nuiqsut, Anaktuvuk Pass, Point Hope, Point Lay, and Kaktovik: The Presidents of these eight entities are members of National Petroleum Reserve in Alaska Working Group Bylaws & Operating Procedures

the working group. These officials may each identify a designee to represent them at Working Group meetings and other activities.

Municipal Governments (if any) for Wainwright, Atqasuk, Barrow, Nuiqsut, Anaktuvuk Pass, Point Hope, Point Lay, and Kaktovik: Where municipal governments exist, the Mayors of these communities are members of the Working Group. These officials may each identify a designee to represent them at Working Group meetings and other activities.

The State of Alaska: The State may appoint one member to participate in the Working Group's meetings, and other business as appropriate. The State member will be non-voting.

- **11. Terms of Office:** The representatives serve at the pleasure of their appointing organization or community. There are no term limits, and the appointing organization or organizations may appoint an alternate or a replacement at any time using their own internal processes.
- **12. Meeting Attendance:** Working Group representatives agree to attend face-to-face meetings and teleconferences if possible. When representatives cannot attend they can have an alternate attend in their stead.
- **13. Officers:** The Working Group members will nominate and elect a chair and co-chair every two years. The principal duties of the chair are conducting face-to-face and teleconference meetings, and working with the AO on identifying issues for consideration by the Working Group. The co-chair assists the chair, and serves as the chair when the chair is unavailable to attend a meeting.
- **14. Authority:** The Working Group is established pursuant to the 2013 Record of Decision for the Integrated Activity Plan/Environmental Impact Statement for the National Petroleum Reserve in Alaska.