U.S. Department of the Interior Bureau of Land Management

Direction for newly arriving AFS barracks residents

Alaska Fire Service

Modified April 7, 2020 – The safety and health of our employees is a top priority. We are working closely with the DOI Office of Emergency Management (OEM) and following guidance from the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC), Office of Personnel and Management (OPM), and state and local authorities as we prepare, monitor, and respond to developments relating to the coronavirus (CO VID-19).

Your AFS Management Team meets regularly to discuss steps forward as we deal with the ramifications of the threat of COVID-19. In order to comply with the <u>State of Alaska Health Mandate 10.1</u> requiring all people arriving from outside Alaska to self-quarantine for 14 days while <u>monitoring for symptoms</u> and based upon the current configuration of the AFS Barracks, we are implementing the following directions:

- All newly arriving AFS barracks residents must self-quarantine in lodging other than the barracks whether it's a hotel or other accommodations within Alaska for 14 days.
- The BLM Alaska Fire Service will pay for the cost of the room, at the approved rate for Fairbanks, but **will not pay any per diem, i.e. meals and incidental expenses** during the off-site quarantine period. Additionally, barracks residents will be virtually checked into the barracks and will be charged their normal nightly rate of \$8.40 during this time.
- Travel charge cards can be used to pay for lodging. If you do not have a travel charge card, please contact your supervisor. If you make any purchases in response to the COVID-19 outbreak, please use the WBS Code: LXSICV190000 on your Reallocation Sheet. Contact <u>Almeda Gladdis</u> or <u>Staci Oaks</u> in AFS procurement or <u>Amy Marshall</u> at the BLM Ak State Office.
- Employees authorized to telework and have the supporting equipment already issued, you will telework from your quarantine location at the direction of your supervisor.
- The <u>Families First Coronavirus Response Act</u> authorizes up to 80 hours of paid sick leave for employees who are quarantined in response to a state or local order, if they are unable to telework.
- In order to ensure the safety of the Human Resources and IT personnel, no PIV cards, laptops or mobile devices will be issued until after the quarantine period is complete and the individual has not exhibited signs of the illness.
- After the 14-day quarantine period, returning employees will in-process, working with their supervisor to coordinate with HR and IT.

These decisions were not taken lightly and came after much discussion, and input from those affected in the barracks. However, given the design of our barracks, and our transient workforce, it was deemed the best solution under the current circumstances.

In the meantime, AFS's workforce is full of individuals with a can-do attitude. We encourage you to help come up with solutions to the challenges that arise in the months to come.

Main points of the SOA travel health mandate:

- You may leave your designated quarantine location only for medical emergencies or to seek medical care.
- Do not allow visitors in or out of your designated quarantine location other than health care officials or personnel authorized by Unified Command.
- If you are required to self-quarantine and there are other individuals in your residence, hotel room, or rented lodging, you are required to comply with social distancing guidelines.
- This means you are to make arrangements to have food and supplies delivered.
- All incoming travelers must fill out a <u>mandatory declaration form</u>. Travelers arriving in Alaska may submit the form online or download, print, scan, sign, and email to <u>AKCOVIDTravel@ak-prepared.com</u>. Printed forms will also be available in airports receiving international and out-of-state flights.

The failure to follow this order is punishable by a fine of up to \$25,000, or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both pursuant to Alaska Statute 12.55.035 and Alaska Statute 12.55.135

The <u>CDC</u> has useful information that may help alleviate some of the common concerns:

- COVID-19 is thought to be spread by close contact with infected individuals through respiratory droplets (i.e. coughing, sneezing).
- You are considered to have low risk of exposure and do not require special restrictions, if you have:
 - only briefly shared the same indoor environment as a person who is confirmed to have been infected with COVID-19;
 - walked by an infected individual; and/or
 - briefly been in the same room as an infected individual.
- Individuals who are symptomatic or who may have had close contact with a person with a confirmed case should immediately self-isolate and consult a medical professional.
- Currently, testing or symptom monitoring is not recommended for a person exposed to another asymptomatic person who had a potential exposure (i.e. contacts of contacts).

The CDC also provides helpful information on <u>how to prevent this illness</u> and stress that basic hygiene practices are the most effective in staying healthy.

Please continue to use the following resources for more information. The DOI Office of Emergency Management Sharepoint site for updates to preparedness efforts and Government-wide guidance as well as for additional guidance for employees and supervisors -

https://doimspp.sharepoint.com/sites/doicov?CT=1584118187670&OR=OWA-NT&CID=0db50df8-5db4-d98af369-0c4196a52b27 and the CDC's COVID-19 website—the best and most up-to-date resource- <u>COVID-19</u> website. For information for federal employees please see recent <u>OPM guidance</u>.

Important numbers:

- Fairbanks Memorial Hospital COVID 19 Information Hotline 907-458-2888
- State-wide information hotline (not for medical screening) dial 211

Go to the Alaska DHSS website to see all of the <u>State of Alaska Health Mandates</u>. Click on link to subscribe to <u>Alaska Department of Health and Social Services new releases</u> delivered via either email or SMS.