
NONCOMMERCIAL PERMIT CONDITIONS OF USE 

 
The Party Leader will sign and agree to conduct their trip and party members in compliance with these conditions.  
 
1.  Party Leader signature affirms the following conditions for a noncommercial permit have been met: 
        a)  There is a bona fide sharing of expenses. 
        b)  There are no fees collected in excess of the actual cost of the trip. 
        c)  There is no financial gain by any member of the group. 
        d)  No salary is directed from shared trip expenses. 
        e)  No charge is collected for use of the equipment. 
2.  Party Leader must:  
        a)  Carry this permit and display upon request of any authorized official. 
        b)  Accompany the float craft and be present on the entire river trip. 
        c)  Complete the trip with the entire permitted group of listed party members. 
        d)  Camp with the entire permitted group of listed party members each night, having all party float craft docked together 

at the campsite or lodge location on each night of the entire river trip. 
3.  When campfires are allowed: 
 a)  All fires within 400 feet of the river must be contained in a raised fire pan. A fire ring may not be used. 
 b)  All garbage and fire residue (ashes, charcoal) must be hauled out.  
       c)  Scavenged wood must be both dead and down. 
4.  Coast Guard approved Type I, III, or V personal flotation devices (PFDs): 
       a)  Are required by Oregon State Marine Board 
       b)  Must be properly fitted and be readily accessible for each party member.  
       c)  Must be worn in class III and greater rapids by each person, regardless of age. 
       d)  Children aged 12 years and under must wear PFDs at all times while on or near the water.  
5.  Toilet Systems/Human Waste Removal System (HWRS) regulations: 
       a)   Each permitted group or subgroup must have an approved Toilet System in their possession. 
       b)   Must be readily available for use or to show to authorized officials at all times. 
       c)   Must be set-up within 30 minutes of arriving at camp, except in locations that have a government (pit) toilet on site. 
       d)   Must be a dedicated system; cannot be used to store supplies, is reusable, washable, water tight, and a screw on or 

latching gasket lid. Approved pouch Toilet Systems require a watertight container to store used pouches.        
       e)  Disposal of solid human waste [while on river] in other than an approved Toilet System or government (pit) toilet is 

prohibited. 
6. Permit is valid only for the permitted launch date listed on the front. Permitted launches or ingress will be at Grave Creek 

Boat Ramp or above, and departures or egress will be at Foster Bar Boat Ramp or below. On the permitted launch date 

each party must have all float craft and listed permit party members below Grave Creek Falls by midnight. A trip may 

not exceed 7 days, including the permitted launch date.  
7. Current use permit identification number (boat tag) must be visibly displayed on the bow of each craft. All other boat 

tags must be removed or placed four feet or more away from the bow. 
8.    Oregon State Marine Board requires an Aquatic Invasive Species Permit for all manually powered boats 10 ft. or longer. 
9.    Use of motors for propelling boats is prohibited between Grave Creek and the Siskiyou National Forest boundary at 

Marial May 15 – Nov 15. Use of motors between the holding pool below Blossom Bar rapid and Watson Creek requires 

obtaining a separate “USFS Private Motorboat Permit”. 
10.  Discharging a firearm or any other implement capable of taking human life, causing injury, or damaging property is 

prohibited: 
            (1) from June 1 to September 15 from the land or waters between Grave Creek and the Rogue River-Siskiyou    
                  National Forest boundary at Marial 
            (2) at any time within 150 yards of a residence, building, developed or undeveloped recreation site 
            (3) at any occupied area at any time across or on any body of water whereby any person or property is exposed to 

injury or damages as a result of such discharge.                                  
11.  Possessing, discharging, or using any kind of firework or other pyrotechnic device is prohibited.  
12. Disturbing, removing, or damaging any natural feature, historical feature, or artifact is prohibited. 
13. Abandoning personal property is prohibited. 
14.  It is unlawful to habituate bears and other wildlife. 
15. If a party is found in noncompliance with any of the “Conditions of Use,” the party leader will not be allowed to control a  

Permit for the rest of this year, continuing through the following year’s regulated use season. In addition to the 

Prohibited Acts (pursuant to Title 43 CFR 8351.2-1, 2 [Vol. 57, No. 110, Monday, June 8, 1992, OR-110-6310-11-

257A: G2-268], Title 43 CFR 8365, Title 36 CFR 261.50 sub part B, Title 36 CFR 261.4, 261.9, 261.10 (d)(e), 

261.11(b)(c), and ORS 496.731) individuals must comply with all Federal, State, and local laws, ordinances, 

regulations, orders, postings or written requirements applicable to the area. 

 


