

United States Department of the Interior Bureau of Land Management Arctic Field Office

NPR-A Working Group Fact Sheet

What is the NPR-A Working Group?

The NPR-A Working Group is an advisory body to the BLM made up of the elected leaders of North Slope Borough regional entities (the North Slope Borough, Iñupiat Community of the Arctic Slope, and Arctic Slope Regional Corporation) and the Mayor of each incorporated city, the President of each Tribal Government, and the President of each village ANCSA corporation in the NSB. The NPR-A Working Group was established to consult directly with the BLM on large-scale land management decisions in the NPR-A.

Working Group Meetings

The Working Group will hold at least one in-person meeting each year, convened at a single location at the call of the Chair or Authorized Officer, and currently holds monthly teleconferences. NPR-A Working Group teleconferences are held the third Thursday of every month at 9 AM. The call in number is 1-866-566-6183 and the passcode is 3067503 #.

What is the Role of the NPR-A Working Group?

The NPR-A Working Group was established by the February 2013 Record of Decision (ROD) for the NPR-A Final Integrated Activity Plan/Environmental Impact Statement (IAP/EIS) based on input from the NSB government, other North Slope communities, and regional organizations. The primary objective of the NPR-A Working Group is to provide a forum for ongoing meaningful and regular input regarding the implementation of the 2013 NPR-A IAP/EIS, including oil and gas leasing, land use conflicts, and infrastructure projects supporting onshore and offshore oil and gas development such as production facilities and pipelines. The Working Group may also serve as a forum to collect additional scientific information and traditional ecological knowledge about wildlife and its habitat and to inform potential boundary adjustments to special areas. The Working Group may utilize smaller focus groups to work on particular issues.

Entity	Primary Representative	Designated Alternate Representative(s)
North Slope Borough	Mayor Harry Brower, Jr.	David J (DJ) Fauske, Jason Bergeson,
Iñupiat Community of the Arctic Slope	Frederick Brower	George Edwardsen
Arctic Slope Regional Corporation	Rex Rock, Sr.	Crawford Patkotak (Current NPR-A Working Group Co-Chair)
City of Point Hope	Christina Tippin	Phyllis Frankson
Tikiġak Corporation	Herbert Kinneeveauk, Jr.	Sayers Tuzroyluk
Native Village of Point Hope	Eva Kineeveauk	

Who is on the NPR-A Working Group?

Entity	Primary Representative	Designated Alternate Representative(s)
Cully Corporation	Marty Awalin	
Native Village of Point Lay	Lupita Henry	
City of Wainwright	Raymond Nashookpuk	
Native Village of Wainwright	BlairPatkotak	Rose Panik
Olgoonik Corporation	Hugh Patkotak	Oliver Peetok, Moire Dugan
City of Atqasuk	Doug Whiteman	
Native Village of Atqasuk	TBD	
Atqasuk Corporation	Margaret Angasuk	Fanny Akpik
City of Anaktuvuk Pass	Esther Hugo	
Naqsraġmiut Tribal Council	Thomas Rulland	Bass Gordon
Nunamiut Corporation	Wallace Nay	
City of Kaktovik	Amanda Kaleak	
Kaktovik Inupiat Corporation	Matthew Rexford	
Native Village of Kaktovik	Edward Rexford, Sr.	
City of Barrow	Fanny Suvlu	
Native Village of Barrow	Charles Brower	
Ukpeaġvik Iñupiat Corporation	Anthony Edwardsen	Delbert Rexford
City of Nuiqsut	=Vernon Bennet	Martha Itta
Native Village of Nuiqsut	Margaret Pardue	NVN Council Members and Admin. Assistants
Kuukpik Corporation	Joe Nukapigak	Mark Major
State of Alaska	Faith Martineau?	

The NPR-A Working Group reports to the Authorized Officer of the Bureau of Land Management, currently defined as Shelly Jones, the Manager of the BLM Arctic Office. Questions about the NPR-A Working Group can be directed to Shelley Jones at njones@blm.gov or (907) 474-2310.