
TABLE 3-19.  Recordation of mining claims, Public Law 94-579, from October 21, 1976, 

through fiscal year 1997 
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tive state
 claims @
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 under FHFC
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beginning
 during yr.
 beginning
 /h/
 year end
 
/g/
 

Alaska
 

Arizona
 

California
 

Colorado
 

Eastern
 

111999
 1440
 113439
 9832
 851
 118
 

341082
 6622
 347704
 34423
 363
 430
 

269468
 2344
 271812
 32882
 1814
 763
 

248185
 888
 249073
 8371
 215
 70
 

10986
 1
 10987
 28
 0
 0
 
States /b/
 

12215 

33328 

29789 

8514 

31 

Idaho
 

Montana /c/
 

Nevada
 

New Mexico
 

174437
 1828
 176265
 16136
 374
 979
 

200818
 1164
 201982
 20564
 2012
 147
 

725345
 30170
 755515
 135967
 2638
 1910
 

164757
 1361
 166118
 8676
 1286
 67
 
/d/
 

20184 

23910 

148390 

5919 

Oregon /e/
 143003
 1164
 144167
 11523
 581
 59
 

Utah
 349029
 2601
 351630
 14167
 266
 398
 

Wyoming /f/
 251035
 2270
 253305
 13951
 396
 178
 

Total
 2988264
 51853
 3040117
 306520
 10408
 5119
 

11545 

16237 

15390 

324651 

/a/ Claims declared forfeit or abandoned and void under Public Laws 94-579, 102-381, and 103-66. On 

October 5, 1992, PL 102-381 imposed an annual rental fee of $100 per claim or site in lieu of performance of
 
assessment work. Certain “small miners” and mineral patent applicants were exempted and the fees waived. 

The $100 fee was continued through fiscal year 1998 by PL 103-66. Failure to pay, qualify as a “small
 
miner,” or qualify for a waiver results in statutory abandonment and forfeiture of the affected claim or
 
site (43 CFR 3833.1-6). Claims forfeited in one year may be closed out in the following year.
 

/b/ Includes all States bordering on, or east of, the Mississippi River.
 

/c/ Includes North and South Dakota.
 

/d/ Includes Oklahoma, Texas, and Kansas.
 

/e/ Includes Washington.
 

/f/Includes Nebraska.
 

/g/ Active means that the subject claim or site is in good standing under the recording, maintenance, and
 
assessment work statutes. It does not refer to any potential activity upon the land contained within the
 
claim or site.
 

/h/ Claims held under First Half of the Mineral Entry Final Certificate (FHFC) for a mineral patent
 
application are exempt from the requirements to perform assessment work or to pay the annual $100 fee. See
 
43 CFR 3851.5.
 

Sources: BLM’s automated mining claim recordation systems for the lower 48 states and Alaska; BLM State
 
Office records and working files.
 


