Cadastral Survey Contacts                                                                                                              December 2022

Alaska

Mr. Thomas O'Toole
Chief Cadastral Surveyor
Branch of Cadastral Survey (AK-942) 222 West 7th Avenue, #13
Anchorage, Alaska 99513-7599
(907) 271-4231 (Voice-Direct)
(907) 271-4549 (Fax)
totoole@blm.gov 

Field Section Survey Chief: Kurt Huhta 
(907) 271-4234
khuhta@blm.gov 

Office Section Chief; Nathan C. Erickson
(907) 271-5770
n05erick@blm.gov

Cadastral Contract Chief: Vacant

Riparian Specialist: Sam R. Morris
(907) 271-5236
s05morri@blm.gov 

PLSS Data Set Manager: Joshua Foreman
(907) 271-4206
jforeman@blm.gov 

Arizona

Mr. Mark Morberg
Chief Cadastral Surveyor (AZ-921)
 One N. Central Avenue Suite 800
Phoenix, Arizona 85004-4427
(602) 417-9558 (Voice Direct)
(602) 417-9588 (Fax)
mmorberg@blm.gov

Field Survey Chief: Geoff Graham
(623) 580-5579
ggraham@blm.gov 

Office and Review Lead: Vacant

PLSS Data Set Manager: Michelle Meece 
(602) 417-9577
mmeece@blm.gov

California, Hawaii

Ms. Joan Honda
Chief Cadastral Surveyor
Branch of Cadastral Survey (CA-942)
2800 Cottage Way, Room W-1834 Sacramento, California 95825
(916) 978-4323 (Voice-Direct)
(916) 978-4327 (Fax)
jhonda@blm.gov
Field Chief: Vacant

Office Chief: Vacant 

PLSS Data Set Manager: J Leavitt
(916) 978-4347
jleavitt@blm.gov 

Colorado

Ms. Janet M Wilkins 
Chief Cadastral Surveyor
Branch of Cadastral Survey 
2850 Youngfield Street
Lakewood, Colorado 80215
(303) 239-3856 (Voice-Direct)
(303) 239-3815 (Fax)
j1wilkin@blm.gov

Field & Office Section Chief: David Ginther, 
(970) 826-5064
dginther@blm.gov

Southwest District Lead: Sean Mullen, 
(970) 240-5410
smullen@blm.gov 

Rocky Mountain District Lead: 
Rebecca M. Bruno 
(970) 642-4946
rmbruno@blm.gov

Northwest and Upper Colorado River District Lead: Kyle Scholl, 
(970) 724-3018
kscholl@blm.gov

PLSS Dataset Manager: Dale Vinton,
(303) 239-3819
dvinton@blm.gov 

Eastern States, all states east of and bordering the Mississippi River
Mr. Dave Radford
Deputy State Director Geospatial Services
(ES-960) 
5275 Leesburg Pike
Suite 102-A
Falls Church, VA 22041
O: (703) 558-7759
C: (503) 333-8855
fradford@blm.gov 

Field Chef: Leon Chmura 
(703) 558-7760; Lchmura@blm.gov

Office Chief: Vacant

PLSS Data Set Manager: Vacant

Idaho

Mr. Timothy A. Quincy
Chief Cadastral Surveyor
(LLID957000) 
1387 South Vinnell Way
Boise, Idaho 83709
(208) 373-3981 (Voice-Direct)
(208) 373-3980 (Voice-Main)
(208) 373-3988 (Fax)
tquincy@blm.gov 

Field Chief: Monte L. King 
(208) 373-3984; mking@blm.gov 

Office Chief: Daniel S. Young 
(208) 373-3994; dsyoung@blm.gov 

PLSS Data Set Manager: Byron McCombs (208) 373-3992; bmccombs@blm.gov 

Nez Perce Reservation Project Office: 
Jesse Baca 
(208) 621-4833; jbaca@blm.gov 

Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota

Mr. Joshua F. Alexander
Chief Cadastral Surveyor for Montana and the Dakotas (MT-926)
5001 Southgate Drive
Billings, Montana 59101
(406) 896-5123 (Voice-Direct)
(406) 896-5295 (Fax)
jalexand@blm.gov

 

Field Chief: Vacant

Office Chief /Program Lead: Vacant 

PLSS Data Set Manager and Title Records: Vacant 

Nevada

Mr. Michael Harmening
Chief Cadastral Surveyor
Branch of Geographic Services (NV-952) Division of Support Services
1340 Financial Boulevard
Reno, Nevada 89502-7147
(775) 861-6490 (Voice-Direct)
mharmeni@blm.gov

Cadastral Field Section Chief: Shane Trotter (775) 861-6544; strotter@blm.gov

Cadastral Office Section Chief: Clarence Strickland 
(775) 861-6557; dstrickland@blm.gov


Mapping Science Section/GIS: Don Harper (775) 861-6565; dpharoer@blm.gov

National Mineral Surveyor Program Lead: Brandon K. Grace
(775) 861-6551; bgrace@blm.gov

Land Status Supervisor: 
Barry Bonnett
(775) 861-6602; jbonnett@blm.gov

PLSS Data Set Manager: Lucas Beauchamp (775) 861-6545; lbeauchamp@blm.gov

New Mexico, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas

Mr. Michael Purtee
Chief Cadastral Surveyor 
New Mexico State Office
Branch of Cadastral Survey
100 Sun Avenue, Suite 230
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109
(505) 761-8903
mpurtee@blm.gov

Deputy Chief: Michael Hart
(505) 761-8908; mlhart@blm.gov 

PLSS Data Set Manager: Monica Faux
(505) 761-8911; mfaux@blm.gov 

Oregon, Washington

Ms. Mary J. M. Hartel
Chief Cadastral Surveyor
Branch of Geographic Sciences (OR-957)
1220 S.W. 3rd Avenue
Portland, OR 97204
U.S. Mail
P.O. Box 2965
Portland, Oregon 97208
(503) 808-6132 (Voice)
(503) 808-6190 (Fax)
mhartel@blm.gov

Associate Branch Chief: vacant

Acting Cadastral Survey Section 1 Chief: Randy Younis
(503) 808-6498; ryounis@blm.gov

Cadastral Survey Section 2 Chief: Robert Femling
(503) 808-6633; rfemling@blm.gov

Acting Spatial Products Section Chief:  Frank Lahm
(503) 808-6428; flahm@blm.gov

PLSS Data Set Manager: Travis Thomas 
(503) 808-6177; t2thomas@blm.gov
 
Utah

Mr. Matthew Kurchinski
Chief Cadastral Surveyor for Utah (UT-925)
Utah State Office
440 West 200 South, Suite 500
Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1345
(801) 539-4139 (Voice-Direct)
mkurchin@blm.gov

Deputy/Program Lead: Ronald (Keith) Batty
(801) 539-4136; rbatty@blm.gov

PLSS Data Set Manager: Calvert Norton
(801) 539-4140; cnorton@blm.gov 

Wyoming, Nebraska

Ms. Sonja (Suzie) Sparks
Chief Cadastral Surveyor for Wyoming and Nebraska (WY-926)
5353 Yellowstone Road
Cheyenne, WY  82009
(307) 775-6225 (Voice-Direct)
(307) 275-5014 (mobile)
s75spark@blm.gov


Deputy/Program Lead: vacant

Field Chief: James E. Jacob 
(307) 684-1062; jjacob@blm.gov

Office Chief/ PLSS Data Set Manager: Jeremy Davis
(307) 775-6467; j65davis@blm.gov

GNSS Technical Lead: Benjamin Johnson
(307) 775-6217; brjohnson@blm.gov

BLM Headquarters (HQ-350)

Dominica VanKoten
Branch Chief, Lands and Cadastral Survey 
Headquarters Chief Cadastral Surveyor
(571) 266-9585
dvankote@blm.gov


Cadastral Services Fiduciary Trust Manager: Jacob Barowsky
(505) 250-6180; jbarowsky@blm.gov

Cadastral Budget, Performance Reporting and Agreements: Roberto Valdez
(505) 954-2071; rvaldez@blm.gov

Public Land Survey System Data Set Manager: Christopher McDonald
(405) 648-2793; cpmcdona@blm.gov

LR2000 Lead: Maria (Virginia) Morales
(775) 861-6429, vmorales@blm.gov 

Land Status and Surface Management Agency (SMA) Lead: Mark Ames
(970) 644-2603; mames@blm.gov

Training, Policy and Technical Guidance:
Robert W. (Bob) Dahl (Reemployed Annuitant) 
(202) 230-4990 or (304) 947-7246; bdahl@blm.gov