U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT

Data Management

Data Standards

Data standards describe what the data set represents and the attributing scheme for the data. In addition, data standards provide information about how the data relates to other data sets, the geographic relationships (topology), provides information about how the data is published and edited. Data standards represent the road map for data collection and maintenance describing how the data is intended to be captured.

Domains (Valid Values)

Domains identify those values that are permissible in a data attribute that uses codes or standard words to represent the value of that item for an occurrence of data. While domains are described and listed in data standards and metadata, they are somewhat dynamic and can be difficult to keep updated in those documents. Data standards list the valid values in place at the time the data standard was issued but changes to domains are not reflected in those documents. Metadata also lists domains and for those that are small lists, do not change often, and are limited in use to one data set the metadata is kept current. Large domains or those that are used in multiple data sets are difficult to keep current in metadata so those domains are posted here.

Data Stewards

The State Data Stewards are responsible for approving data standards and business rules, developing Quality Assurance/Quality Control procedures, identifying potential privacy issues, and ensuring that data is managed as a corporate resource, coordinates with field office data stewards, the state data administrator, Geographic Information System (GIS) coordinators, and national data stewards.

DATA STANDARD NAME STEWARD PHONE EMAIL
Areas of Critical Environmental Concern (ACEC) Mark Mousseaux (541) 618-2232 mmoussea@blm.gov
Easements and Rights-of-Way (ESMTROW) Dianne Rasmussen (503) 808-6397 drasmuss@blm.gov
  Dustin Wharton (O&C Lands) (541) 471-6659 dwharton@blm.gov
Fire History Craig Goodell (503) 808-6595 cgoodell@blm.gov
Forest Operations Inventory Vegetation Carolina Hooper (503) 315-5927 chooper@blm.gov
Grazing Allotments and Pastures Robert Hopper (503) 808-6118 rhopper@blm.gov
Hazardous Site or Trespass John Barber (HazMat and AML) (503) 808-6538 j1barber@blm.gov
  Diann Rasmussen (Trespass) (503) 808-6397 drasmuss@blm.gov
Land Tenure Zones Jenny Liang (503) 808-6299 jliang@blm.gov 
Mineral Stipulation Areas Tim Barnes (541) 416-6858 tbarnes@blm.gov
Other National Designations Jerry Magee (503) 808-6086 gmagee@blm.gov
Ocean Corey Plank (503) 808-6145 cplank@blm.gov
OHV Designation Areas Chris Knauf (503) 808-6427 cknauf@blm.gov
Plan Area Boundary Leslie Frewing (503) 808-6088 lfrewing@blm.gov
PLSS, Surface and Subsurface Status Travis Thomas (PLSS) (503) 808-6177  t2thomas@blm.gov
  Frank Lahm (Surface and Subsurface) (503) 808-6428 flahm@blm.gov
Recreation Management Areas Zach Jarrett (503) 808-6296 zjarrett@blm.gov
Recreation Sites Zach Jarrett (503) 808-6296 zjarrett@blm.gov
Reforestation and Forest Survey Carolina Hooper (503) 315-5927 chooper@blm.gov
Resource Area Boundary Corey Plank (503) 808-6145 cplank@blm.gov
Right-of-Way (ROW) Designation Areas Dianne Rasmussen (503) 808-6397 drasmuss@blm.gov
Sampling and Monitoring Points Molly Anthony (503) 808-6052 manthony@blm.gov
Structures Patrick Keady (FAMS) (503) 808-6407 pkeady@blm.gov 
  Robert Hopper (Range) (503) 808-6118 rhopper@blm.gov
  Scott Lightcap (Fisheries) (541) 464-3325 slightca@blm.gov
  Anna Smith (Hydrography) (541) 416-6747 aksmith@blm.gov
Treatments Erin McConnell (503) 808-6261 emcconne@blm.gov
  Leanne Mruzik (NFPORS) (503) 808-6592  lmruzik@blm.gov
  Carolina Hooper (Microstorms) (503) 315-5927 chooper@blm.gov
Visual Resources Jerry Magee (503) 808-6086 gmagee@blm.gov
Wild and Scenic Rivers Zach Jarrett (503) 808-6296 zjarrett@blm.gov
Wilderness Jerry Magee (503) 808-6086 gmagee@blm.gov
Wilderness Characteristics Jerry Magee (503) 808-6086 gmagee@blm.gov
Wilderness Study Areas Jerry Magee (503) 808-6086 gmagee@blm.gov

Technical Leads

The Technical Lead works with data stewards to convert business needs into applications and derive data requirements and participates in the development of data standards, coordinates with system administrators and GIS coordinators to manage the GIS databases, works with data editors to make sure data is being input into the enterprise Spatial Database Engine (SDE) database consistently and in accordance with the established data standard, provides technical assistance and advice on GIS analysis, query and display of the dataset.

DATA STANDARD NAME TECHNICAL LEAD PHONE EMAIL
Areas of Critical Environmental Concern (ACEC) Stephen Haney (541) 618-2530 s1haney@blm.gov
Easements and Rights-of-Way (ESMTROW) TBD    
Fire History Barbara Haney (503) 808-2741 bhaney@blm.gov
Forest Operations Inventory Vegetation Dana Baker-Allum (503) 808-6320 dbakerallum@blm.gov
Grazing Allotments and Pastures Paul Whitman (541) 947-6110 pwhitman@blm.gov
Hazardous Site or Trespass TBD    
Land Tenure Zones TBD    
Mineral Stipulation Areas TBD    
Other National Designations TBD    
Ocean TBD    
OHV Designation Areas TBD    
Plan Area Boundary TBD    
PLSS, Surface and Subsurface Status Frank Lahm (503) 808-6428 flahm@blm.gov
Recreation Management Areas TBD    
Recreation Sites Gavin Hoban (541) 416-6879 ghoban@blm.gov
Reforestation and Forest Survey TBD    
Resource Area Boundary TBD    
Right-of-Way (ROW) Designation Areas  TBD     
Sampling and Monitoring Points TBD    
Structures TBD    
Treatments TBD    
Visual Resources TBD    
Wild and Scenic Rivers Tamiko Stone (503) 808-6191 tstone@blm.gov
Wilderness Erin Frostad (503) 808-6524 efrostad@blm.gov
Wilderness Characteristics TBD    
Wilderness Study Areas Erin Frostad (503) 808-6524 efrostad@blm.gov

State Administrators

The State Data Administrator provides information management leadership, data modeling expertise and custodianship of the state data models. The State Data Administrator ensures that defined processes for development of data standards and metadata are followed, and that they are consistent and complete. The State Data Administrator is responsible for making data standards and metadata accessible to all users. The State Data Administrator also coordinates with data stewards and GIS coordinators to respond to national spatial data requests.

The State Records Administrator assists the State Data Steward to identify any privacy issues related to spatial data. The State Records Administrator provides direction and guidance on data release and fees, and ensures that data has been classified under the proper records retention schedule to determine the appropriate Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) category.

Eric Hiebenthal

State Data Administrator
Oregon/Washington
503-808-6565
ehiebent@blm.gov

Tamara Yingling

tate Records Administrator
Oregon/Washington
503-808-6450
971-271-4414 cell
tyinglin@blm.gov