Rio Grande Gorge, New Mexico
Mimbres Black-on-White Bowl, New Mexico Lesser Prairie Chicken, New Mexico Rafting the Rio Grande, New Mexico Wild Horse, New Mexico Oil Rig, Oklahoma
New Mexico
BLM>New Mexico>National Conservation Lands>National Conservation Areas
Print Page

National Conservation Areas

National Conservation Areas Frequently Asked Questions

National Conservation Areas (NCAs) feature exceptional natural, recreational, cultural, wildlife, aquatic, archaeological, paleontological, historical, educational, and/or scientific resources. The Bureau of Land Management's National Conservation Lands include 16 NCAs and five similarly designated lands in ten states.

Why are National Conservation Areas designated?
NCAs are designated by Congress to conserve, protect, enhance, and manage public land areas for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations. Unlike National Wilderness or National Wild and Scenic River designations, there is not a single Congressional Act that guides the management of National Conservation Areas.  Instead, the particular Act which authorizes designation of each NCA identifies the unique values to be protected and any other specific management guidelines to be followed.

What National Conservation Areas are in New Mexico?

New Mexico is home to two NCAs: El Malpais NCA and Fort Stanton-Snowy River Cave NCA.

La Ventana Arch at El Malpais NCA Fort Stanton-Snowy River Cave NCA

National Conservation Lands


National Conservation Lands in New Mexico

The NLCS: A Geography of Hope (video)

National Conservation Areas

National Scenic and Historic Trails

National Monuments

Wild and Scenic Rivers

Wilderness and Wilderness Study Areas (WSA)

Map of National Conservation Lands in New Mexico

Implementing the National 
15-Year Strategy in New Mexico

National Conservation Lands Online Resources (maps, brochures, etc.)

National Conservation Lands National Page