Introduction to the Southeastern States Resource Management Plan

The Southeastern States resource management planning area covers the nine states of Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. BLM manages surface tracts in Arkansas, Florida, Louisiana, and Virginia with parcels ranging from less than one acre to 804 acres. BLM also manages subsurface minerals throughout the nine states, where there are approximately 30 million acres of Federal mineral estate. Reasonably foreseeable development scenarios indicate that development will occur within six of the nine states, with Georgia, North and South Carolina having no mineral development potential.

BLM is developing the Resource Management Plan (RMP) for the Southeastern States to help streamline the mineral leasing process for the federal mineral resources and split mineral estate within the six states. The plan will also provide direction for management of the surface tracts in Arkansas, Florida, Louisiana, and Virginia, including natural resources, such as fish and wildlife habitat, cultural and other resources. Management options for the surface tracts include disposal, shared management with other agencies, or continued ownership of BLM.

The plan fulfills the needs and obligations set forth by the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA), the Federal Land Policy and Management Act (FLPMA), and BLM management policies. The BLM will work collaboratively with interested parties to identify the management decisions that are best suited to local, regional, and national needs and concerns.

For further information about the planning process, or to be added to the mailing list please click here to send an email, or  contact the BLM Southeastern States Field Office at 411 Briarwood Drive, Suite 404 Jackson, Mississippi 39206 or (601) 977-5400.

Southeastern States Draft Resource Management Plan and Environmental Impact Statement