Photograph of Colorado Mountain Range
Gunnison River float Guide Instruction Photograph of Petroglyphs Dominquez-Escalante National Conservation Area Photograph Photograph of Snowy Landscape Bighorn Sheep
BLM>Colorado>Dominguez-Escalante National Conservation Area>Resource Management Plan>Advisory Council
Print Page
Resource Management Plan: Advisory Council

Photograph of Gunnison River from footbridge at Bridgeport, with header text
Return to main websiteRMP home page

Travel management

Wild and scenic riversAdvisory CouncilPublic scoping
Recreation planningRMP background

Route-by-route designations

MapsProtest and Appeal 

Draft RMP open houses


Next Advisory Council meeting:

Wednesday, August 31, 2016 at 544 Rood Ave, Grand Junction, CO 81501


  Green triangle, pointing right

Click here for the minutes of the July 27, 2016, meeting in Delta

Green triangle, pointing right

Click here for the minutes of the July 13, 2016, meeting in Grand Junction

Advisory Council meetings are from 3 p.m. to 6. p.m. and are open to the public.



Contact the Council

Email the Council at:
Blue arrow graphic, pointing right

Click here for older Advisory Council meeting minutes and other documents.

Blue arrow graphic, pointing left

Graphic with the words " The Advisory Council"
was established by the Secretary of the Interior to provide advice or recommendations to BLM management in developing the Resource Management Plan for the NCA and Wilderness (Omnibus Act). The Advisory Council includes members appointed to represent categories established by the Omnibus Act.

Council members serve three-year terms, and the Council may remain in existence for up to a year following completion of the plan. Recommendations are based on consensus-building and collaboration.


    Below are the 10 members of the Advisory Council:


Advisory Council Chair Katie Steele  resides in Grand Junction and is the co-chair of the Colorado Riverfront Commission. She represents dispersed recreation and historic resources.


William " Bill" Harris  lives in Montrose and is a past representative of the International Mountain Biking Association and a current board member of the Colorado Plateau Mountain Biking Trail Association. He is also a past president of the Colorado Archaeological Society. Bill represents recreation--primarily mountain biking--and cultural resources.


Kaye Simonson  resides in Grand Junction and is a Mesa County planner. She represents Mesa County.


Oscar Massey  lives in Whitewater and is a rancher with federal grazing permits within the NCA since the mid 1970s. He represents grazing permit holders.


Tamera Minnick  resides in Grand Junction where she is an associate professor of environmental science and technology at Mesa State College. She represents scientific, educational, and ecological values.


Ralph Files is a resident of Montrose and on the Montrose County Parks Advisory Board. He represents Montrose County.


Bob Janowski  lives in Whitewater.  He is a member of the Grand Mesa Jeep Club and the Western Slope ATV Association.


Kate Graham is a resident of Grand Junction and a field organizer at Conservation Colorado.


Craig Grother is a resident of Norwood. He worked as a wildlife biologist for the United States Forest Service from 1986 to 2009, and is presently a seasonal wildlife technician for Colorado Parks and Wildlife in the Montrose Area Office.


Doug Atchley  resides in Delta and is a Delta County Commissioner. He retired from banking in 2007, managing a group of Wells Fargo banks which included branches in Delta, Gunnison, Telluride and Montrose. He was a founding member of Delta Area Development, Inc., and has served as chamber president. He operates a cattle ranch in Delta County. Doug represents Delta County.

For further information, contact the Bureau of Land Management’s Grand Junction Field Office: 

Dominguez-Escalante National Conservation Area
Bureau of Land Management
2815 H Road, Grand Junction, CO 81506
Phone: (970) 244-3000
Fax: (970) 244-3083