Photograph of Colorado Mountain Range
Mesa Autumn Wild Horses oil_rig_OG Boaters Photograph of Ruin
BLM>Colorado>Programs>National Conservation Lands>National Conservation Areas
Print Page
National Conservation Areas

National Conservation Areas

"A thing is right when it tends to preserve the integrity, stability and beauty of the biotic community. It is wrong when it tends otherwise." (Aldo Leopold)

Dominguez-Escalante National Conservation Area              

Additional Information:

Video: Dominguez-Escalante NCA
Video: McInnis Canyons NCA
Video: Gunnison Gorge NCA

(Natl. BLM) National Conservation Areas

What is a national conservation area?
National conservation areas (NCAs) are landscapes with exceptional natural, recreational, cultural, wildlife, aquatic, archaeological, paleontological, historical, educational, or scientific resources or value. They are often very large: amongst the 16 throughout the country, sizes range from ~20,000 acres to ~1.2 million acres.

Why do national conservation areas exist?
National Conservation Areas (NCAs) are designated by Congress to conserve, protect, enhance, and manage public lands for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations. The unique objects and values for which the area was designated are identified in each enabling legislation.

What national conservation areas are in Colorado?
There are three national conservation areas (NCAs) in Colorado that are managed by the Bureau of Land Management: Dominguez-Escalante National Conservation Area, Gunnison Gorge National Conservation Area, and McInnis Canyons National Conservation Area. For more information on each NCA, please view the list below and click the respective links.


Dominguez-Escalante National Conservation Area

Gunnison Gorge National Conservation Area  
Gunnison Gorge

McInnis Canyons National Conservation Area
McInnis Canyons

BLM Colorado State Office  |  (303) 239-3600  |  2850 Youngfield St., Lakewood, CO 80215

National Conservation Lands Program Lead  |  (303) 239-3752