National Conservation Areas


ncareas photo montage National Conservations Areas are Congressionally designated areas managed by the Bureau of Land Management. To date, there have been 16 National Conservation Areas designated, each to protect values unique to those particular areas. Unlike National Wilderness or National Wild and Scenic River designations, there is not a single Congressional Act which guides management of National Conservation Areas in a system. Instead, the particular Act which authorizes designation of each National Conservation Area identifies the unique values to be protected and any other specific management guidelines to be followed. Three of these areas are located in Arizona, two designated to protect sensitive and scarce riparian-related values.