mcpeaks
BLM
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR
BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT
Bull elk on Elk Mountain near Newcastle, Wyoming. Photo by Nate West. Oil rig in Wyoming. Wild horse near Rock Springs, Wyoming. Coal mining operations in the Powder River Basin of northeastern Wyoming. Pronghorn in Wyoming.
Wyoming
BLM>Wyoming>Programs>Minerals>Mining Claims>Other Types of Filings
Print Page

Other Types of Filings

Claimant's Rights

Mining claims and sites are considered real property. The interests in them and associated rights may be bought, sold, transferred, leased, rented, willed or inherited.

If a claim or site meets all the Federal and state requirements, the claimant has a possessory right to develop and extract minerals found on a mining claim. A possessory right is much like an easement, where the United States holds the ultimate real estate title, until a mineral patent is issued. However, the claim or site cannot be used for purposes other than mining or milling.

The claimant has the right to use so much of the surface of the claim or site as is reasonably necessary for mining and milling purposes, including: (1) access across Federally managed surface to and from the claim or site, (2) use of as much of the timber and other surface resources as is necessary for the mining operation, and (3) construction of fences and gates to protect the immediate area of operations and equipment. Also, allowed are temporary and permanent structures for storing equipment, housing for full-time employees, and testing and processing facilities.

Transfers of Ownership

Interest in a properly recorded mining claim or site may be transferred in part or its entirety. A quitclaim deed or recordable conveyance document is required. Transfer documents should be filed within 60 days after the transfer. There is a charge of $10 per claim, per person, per transfer document.

Amendments

You may correct errors on your notice or certificate of location. An amendment

(1) may or may not take in different or additional unappropriated ground; (2) may correct or clarify defects or omissions in the original notice or certificate of location; (3) may change the legal land description; and (4) may change the claim name. Amendments cannot be used to transfer ownership of a mining claim or change the location date.

You must record an amended location certificate with BLM within 90 days after you record the certificate in the county recorder’s office. BLM will not recognize an amendment until it is properly filed. (See 43 CFR 3833.22)

There is a charge of $10 per claim to process an amended location notice.

Relocations

A relocation is treated as a new original location which essentially covers the same land as a prior mining claim/site. As such, a relocation will be issued a new serial number, and date stamped. Filing fees of $189 per claim are required.

A relocation does not relate back to the date of the prior location.

A relocation may not be established by the use of an "amended location notice," but requires a new, original notice or certificate of location as prescribed by state law.