U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIORBUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT
Wyoming News Release
 
Print Page

<<  Back to 2008 News Releases

 

U.S. Department of the Interior
Media Advisory

October 21, 2008

Contact: 
    Frank Quimby, 202-208-7291
    Jeff Krauss, 202-452-5128

Secretary Kempthorne to Announce Geothermal Energy
Leasing and Development Plan for U.S. Public Lands

On Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2008, Secretary of the Interior Dirk Kempthorne will announce a final plan for the development of significant geothermal energy resources on public lands in 12 Western states and Alaska. The plan is contained in a Final Programmatic Environmental Impact Statement. The announcement will be made via a moderated teleconference at 1 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time. Media wishing to participate should call  1-888-787-0203  and enter the pass code 99157.

Who:Secretary of the Interior Dirk Kempthorne
Interior Assistant Secretary C. Stephen Allred, Land and Minerals Management
What:

Announcement of Final Programmatic Environmental Impact Statement on geothermal energy development on U.S. public lands

When:

1 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2008

Media:Credentialed media wishing to participate should call  1-888-787-0203  and enter the pass code 99157. Media will be asked to provide names and affiliations.

Teleconference Time Zones

1 p.m.  Eastern Daylight Time
12-Noon  Central Daylight Time
11 a.m.  Mountain Daylight Time
10 a.m.  Arizona Time
10 a.m.  Pacific Daylight Time

 

- BLM -  


 
Last updated: 10-22-2008