Cabezon Creek WSA, NM
BLM
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR
BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT
Notched projectile point, Idaho Petroglyph, New Mexico Fossil mammal skull, NMMNH Panaca Summit Charcoal Kilns, Nevada Red Gulch Tracksite, Wyoming
Heritage Resources
BLM>Heritage Home>Data Sharing Partnership>Oct. 2002 Meeting
Print Page

2002 Data User's Group Meeting
October 16 and 17, 2002
BLM National Training Center
Phoenix, AZ

Previous Meetings: October 29 and 30, 2001

The Data User's Group (DUG) met at BLM's National Training Center in Phoenix, October 16 and 17. Each State gave an update on their data systems and in many cases provided the group with demonstrations of new applications/developments that have been developed since the last DUG meeting.

Discussion topics at the meeting included: 1) the use of ARC Pad to record cultural resources; 2) FGDG metadata standards; 3) What is Enterprise level data; 4) Cultural resource project tracking system; 5) Standards from transmittal of GIS data to SHPO's; 5) Management of paper records; and 6) Data User's Groups at the state level.

Attendees:

Alaska

Howard Smith
BLM Northern Field Office, Fairbanks, Alaska
(907) 474-2342
hsmith@ak.blm.gov

Joan Dale
Alaska SHPO/OHA, Anchorage
(907) 269-8718
oha@alaska.net

Dave McMahan
Alaska SHPO/OHA, Anchorage
(907) 269-8723
davemc@dnr.state.ak.us

Arizona

Rick Karl
Arizona State Museum, Tucson, Arizona
(520) 621-1271
Karlr@email.arizona.ed

Gary Stumpf (Retired January 2007)
BLM Arizona State Office, Phoenix, Arizona
(602) 417-9236
Gary_Stumpf@blm.gov

John Rose
BLM Kingman Field Office, Arizona
(928) 692-4405
John_Rose@blm.gov

Beth Grindall
Arizona State Museum, Tucson, Arizona
(520) 621-1271
grindell@email.arizona.edu

California

Rolla Queen
BLM California Desert District, Riverside
(909) 697-5386
rqueen@ca.blm.gov

Colorado

Mary Sullivan
Colorado Office of Archaeology and Historic Preservation, Denver
(303) 866-4673
mary.sullivan@chs.state.co.us

Monica Weimer
BLM Royal Gorge Field Office, Canon City, Colorado
(719) 269-8557
monica_weimer@co.blm.gov

Ken Schauer
BLM Colorado State Office, Lakewood
(303) 239-3656
ken_schauer@blm.gov

Idaho

Stan McDonald
BLM Idaho State Office
(208) 373-4043
stan_mcdonald@blm.gov

Linda Clark
BLM Salmon Field Office
(208) 756-5460
Linda_Clark@blm.gov

Montana

Doug Melton
BLM Miles City Field Office
(406)233-2847
doug_melton@blm.gov

Nevada

Eric Ingbar
Gnomon, Inc., Carson City, Nevada
(775) 885-2305
eingbar@gnomon.com

Mark Henderson
BLM, Ely Field Office
(775) 289-1884
mark_henderson@nv.blm.gov

New Mexico

John Roney
BLM Albuquerque Field Office, New Mexico
(505) 761-8757
John_Roney@blm.gov

Oregon

Scott Goodman
BLM Prineville District, Oregon
(541) 416-6760
sgoodman@or.blm.gov

Utah

Craig_Harmon
BLM Richfield Field Office, Utah
(435) 896-1519
craig_harmon@blm.gov

Justin Seastrand
BLM Richfield Field Office, Utah
(435)896-1549
justin_seastrand@blm.gov

Kristen Jensen
Utah SHPO, Salt Lake City
(801) 533-3526
kjensen@utah.gov

Wyoming

Mary Hopkins
Wyoming SHPO, Laramie, Wyoming
(307)766-5324
hopkin@uw.edu

Chris Arthur
BLM Casper Field Office
(307) 261-7501
chris_arthur@blm.gov

BLM Washington Office

Kate Winthrop
BLM, Washington D.C.
(202) 785-6576
kate_winthrop@blm.gov

Robin Burgess
BLM, Washington D.C.
(202) 785-6581
robin_burgess@blm.gov

Dan Martin
BLM, Denver, Colorado
(303) 236-0105
dan_martin@blm.gov


John Rose used Power Point (see it here) to present a report regarding use of ESRI Inc.'s ArcPad software on a hand held device running Windows CE Opoerating System (CE is a "lite" version of MS-Windows) as a field GPS interface for navigating to sites, reviewing the AZSITE GIS locational and tabular data and editing these data while in the field. Upon return to a standard computer running ArcView 3.2/3 or ArcGIS 8, John can load the field data directly to the main GIS effortlessly. In terms of Resource users and especially Archeologist's use of GPS for Cultural GIS work, ArcPad is a fundamentally basic useful tool in terms of gaining quality spatial as well as tabular data and doing so in an effective and efficient manner. John Rose now is working to tweak ArcPad with "ArcPad Application Builder - ArcPad Studio" in order to replicate the AZSITE data entry forms on the ArcPad CE device. ArcPad integrates with ArcView 3.2/3.3 and ArcGIS and provides data collection situations and navigation/orientation capabilities that are spectacular. Join the Discussions regarding ArcPad.