Filings and Fees

 Filings and Fees

Documents filed with the BLM State Office

Utah State Office Address:
440 West 200 South, Suite 500
Salt Lake City, Utah 84101

 (801) 539-4001  Fax Machine - (801)539-4237

 

REMINDER:  ALL FILINGS FILED WITH BLM MUST BE ACCOMPANIED WITH THE PROPER FEES.  THE FILING IS CONSIDERED FILED WHEN THE PROPER FEES ARE PAID.  IF THERE IS A FILING DUE DATE, THE FILING AND PROPER FEES MUST BE RECEIVED ON OR BEFORE THE DUE DATE.  PROCESSING FEES/SERVICE CHARGES ARE NONREFUNDABLE (REGULATION 43 CFR 3830.22). 


DOCUMENT
FEE

Notice of Location for lode claims, mill sites and tunnel sites: 
  
Processing Fee
Location Fee
Maintenance Fee Rate                    
(per claim/site)

For placer claims, the maintenance fee is paid for each 20 acres of the placer claim or portion thereof. 

Processing Fee of $20
Location Fee (recording fee) $34
Maintenance Fee  Rate $140

 

 

 

 

 

 


Notice of Location for lode claims, mill sites and tunnel sites:

Processing Fee
Location Fee
Maintenance Fee Rate
(per claim/site)

For placer claims, the maintenance fee is paid for each 20 acres of the placer claim or portion thereof.

Processing Fee of $20
Location Fee (recording fee) $37
Maintenance Fee Rate $155

With location date prior to 9/1/2014

$20
$34
$140
$194

   Placer fee chart:

   PLACER       20-ACRE     NOL FEE

 

PLACER

ACRES

$194

UP TO 20

$334

20.001 TO 40

$474

40.001 TO 60

$614

60.001 TO 80

$754

80.001 TO 100

 $894

100.001 TO 120

$1,034

120.001 TO 140

$1,174

140.001 TO 160

 

  

 


With location date on or after 9/1/2014

$20
$37
$155
$212

Placer fee chart:
Effective 09/1/2014
(Location Date)

PLACER 20-ACRE NOL FEE

PLACER

ACRES

$212

UP TO 20

$367

20.001 TO 40

$522

40.001 TO 60

$677

60.001 TO 80

$832

80.001 TO 100

$987

100.001 TO 120

$1,142

120.001 TO 140

$1,297

140.001 TO 160

 Any claims over 160 acres will 
 have to be reduced to 
 160 acres or less. 

Amendment  (per claim/site) (Amended NOLs must be recorded at the proper county recorder's office prior to recordation with the BLM (Regulation 43 CFR 3833.22).  You must record amended NOLs with the BLM within 90 days after you record the amended NOL in the local/county recording office.  BLM will not recognize any amendment to your mining claim until you file it properly.)

$10
Map (Must submit map for all claims/sites that shows the claim/site name and boundaries, and boundaries of Section(s), one map may be submitted for two or more claims/sites as long as each claim/site is clearly identified.)                      No fee
Transfer of Interest  
(each transferee must pay per claim/site per document)   
$10
Change of Address  (per claim/site)
No fee
Notice of Abandonment/Relinquishment         (all or part of claim) (all closes the claim)  
    
No fee
Notice of Relinquishment of Ownership 
No fee
Notice of Intent to Locate a Lode or Placer Mining Claim(s) and/or a Tunnel Site(s) on Lands Patented under the Stock Raising Homestead Act of 1916 as Amended by the Act of April 16th, 1993
$30

Maintenance Fee (per claim/site) --
Must be paid on or before Sept. 1st.

MAINTENANCE FEE FOR PLACER CLAIMS: 

(d) Maintaining a mining claim or site for one assessment year (part 3834).

(1) For lode claims, mill sites and tunnel sites, an annual annual maintenance fee of $155 must be paid on or before September 1 each year. 

(2) For placer claims, a $155 annual 
maintenance fee for each 20 acres of the 
placer claim or portion thereof must be 
paid on or before September 1 each year.

 

  • BLM Payment Portal - Pay your Mining Claim Maintenance Fees
  •  Effective for 2015 filing year:  $155

    PLACER FEE CHART:

     

       PLACER 20-ACRE MF FEE

    PLACER ACREAGE

    $155

    UP TO 20

    $310

    20.001 TO 40

    $465

    40.001 TO 60

    $620

    60.001 TO 80

    $775

    80.001 TO 100

    $930

    100.001 TO 120

    $1,085

    120.001 TO 140

    $1,240

    140.001 TO 160

    If over 160 acres, call BLM office.

     

    Maintenance Fee Waiver Certification -- If you qualify --
    Must be filed on or before Sept. 1st.
    No fee
    Affidavit of Annual Assessment Work (per claim/site) -- If you submitted a waiver, file POL on or before Dec. 30th.
    $10
    Notice of Intention to Hold  (per claim/site) -- Filed usually for the first year claim was located, if filing a waiver.
    $10
    Deferment of Assessment Work 
    $105
    Adverse Claim

    $105

    Protest

    $65

    Mineral Patent Application  
    (more than 10 claims)
    (10 or fewer claims)

    Currently BLM is not accepting MPA due to a Congress moratorium.


    $2995
    $1495

    3809 Surface Management Financial Guarantee (Bonds) -- Must use BLM forms if posting with the BLM and submit financial instrument, see bond information.

    No fee

     Documents filed with the BLM Field Office
    for surface disturbance greater than casual use
     (list of BLM Field Contacts-3809)

    DOCUMENT
    FEE
    3809 Notice 
    No fee
    3802 Plan of Operations
    No fee
    3809 Plan of Operations                        
    No fee

    Documents filed with the Forest Service for any surface disturbance
    (website-http://www.fs.fed.us/):
    DOCUMENT
    FEE
    Plan of Operations
    No fee

    Documents filed with the Utah Division of Oil, Gas, and Mining (UDOGM)
    (website - http://www.dogm.nr.state.ut.us/):
     DOCUMENT
    FEE
    Notice of Intent to Conduct Exploration Activities 
    $150
    Notice of Intent to Conduct Small Mining Operations  
    $150
    Notice of Intent to Conduct Large Mining Operations
    less 50 acres
    $500
    Notice of Intent to Conduct Large Mining Operations                        
    over 50 acres
    $1000
    Annual Report
    No fee
    Progress Report
    No fee

    Documents filed with the County Recorder's Office
    (website - http://www.uacnet.org)
    ** All documents must be originals and have a notarized signature.**

    • Notice of Location 
    • Amended Notice of Location 
    • Transfer of Interest 
    • Maintenance Fee Document 
    • Maintenance Fee Waiver Certification 
    • Affidavit of Annual Assessment Work 
    • Notice of Intention to Hold  

    **Fees may vary at local/county recording office, contact proper office.** 

    RECORDING  
    FEE
    First Page (8½ by 11 or 8½ x 14 above documents)
    $10/$12
    Each additional page/map
    $2/$4
    Each additional description (metes & bounds or lots)
    $1
    Exceptions described
    $1
    Each additional name over 2, first or second party
    $1
    The recording fees are the same for the above documents - plus each signor over two
    $1
    Affidavit of Annual Assessment Work/Notice of Intention to Hold   - plus each mining claim over one  
    $1