Vermillion Cliffs--Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument
Calf Creek Falls Cedar Mesa Ruin Cleveland Lloyd Gallery Simpson Springs Pony Express Station Cedar Mesa
Print Page

Monument Advisory Committee

The Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument (GSENM) Advisory Committee (MAC) was established to advise Monument managers on science issues and the achievement of Management Plan objectives.

Next Meeting

A MAC meeting is scheduled for July 29 and 30 at the Monument Headquarters at 669 S. Hwy 89A, Kanab, Utah. The meeting will begin at 1 p.m. on July 29, closing with a public comment period from 5 to 6 p.m. The MAC will reconvene on July 30 at 8 a.m. and will close following a 12 p.m. public comment period. For additional information, call Larry Crutchfield or Sarah Schlanger at 435-644-1200.

Committee Documents

2012 MAC Charter

Minutes from April 2012 MAC Meeting

Minutes from November 2011 MAC Meeting

Committee Composition

The MAC is comprised of 15 members, seven of which are scientists representing the areas of archaeology, paleontology, geology, botany, wildlife biology, social science and systems ecology.  In addition to the scientists, there are eight other Committee members: one local elected official from both Kane and Garfield Counties, one from State government, one from Tribal government, one from the environmental community, one educator, one from the outfitter and guide community operating within the Monument, and one from the ranching community operating within the Monument.

The seven scientists are "Special Government Employees" because of their specialized knowledge with their respective desciplines.  The other eight Committee members are Representatives of their constituent groups.

Committee Membership

To obtain MAC members, GSENM announces a 45-day open "Call for Nominations" period in the Federal Register.  News releases are sent to all major media outlets throughout the state to solicit nominations.  The Call for Nominations is also posted on the BLM-Utah and GSENM websites.

The GSENM Manager, with input from the Associate and Assistant Monument Managers, selects the nominees.  The recommendations are forwarded to the Utah State BLM Director and Governor of Utah for concurrence.  The recommendations are then forwarded to the BLM Director, before being sent on to the Department of the Interior (DOI) and DOI White House Liaison for vetting and approval.  Committee members are appointed by the Secretary of the Interior.

MAC members normally serve three-year terms, and can be re-nominated to serve additional terms.

2011/2012 MAC Members

The 2011/2012 MAC members (representing) are:

  • Robert Blackett (Geology)
  • Gordon Bosworth (Botany)
  • Douglas Reagan (Systems Ecology)
  • Steven Burr (Social Science)
  • Vacant (Paleontology)
  • Norman McKee (Wildlife Biology)
  • Vacant (Archaeology)
  • C. Dirk Clayson (Kane County)
  • Michael Friedman (Outfitter/Guide)
  • Phillip Hanceford (Environmental)
  • Kevin Heaton (State of Utah)
  • Vacant (Tribal Interests)
  • Leland Pollock (Garfield County)
  • Keith Watts (Education)
  • Link Chynoweth (Livestock Grazing)

Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument


   Grand Staircase-Escalante Partners Logo       Glen Canyon Natural History Association

For additional information about GSENM visit: