. .



Oregon / Washington

Resource Advisory Committees

The Secure Rural Schools and Community Self Determination Act of 2000 provides for federal funds to flow to counties that traditionally have been supported by timber payments. The Act, insofar as it applies to the BLM, affects only the 18 Oregon and California Grant Land (O&C) counties in Oregon covered by the five western BLM Districts.

The Act creates a mechanism whereby Resource Advisory Committees (RACs) are utilized for local community collaboration with the BLM and the Forest Service to support projects on federal lands or private lands that benefit resources on federal lands. Project proposals are developed by Federal agencies, participating counties, State and local governments, watershed councils, private and non-profit entities, and landowners. The purposes of the RACs are to improve collaborative relationships and provide advice and recommendations to the Designated Federal Officials, on proposed projects, by evaluating them against established criteria. The RACs also provide opportunities for interested parties to participate in the project development process.

District Office Geographic area within District Boundary
Coos Bay District RAC Federal lands within Coos, Curry, Douglas, and Lane Counties
Eugene District RAC Federal lands within Benton, Douglas, Lane, and Linn Counties
Medford District RAC Federal lands within Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, and Josephine Counties and small portions of west Klamath County
Roseburg District RAC Federal lands within Douglas, Lane, and Jackson Counties
Salem District RAC Federal lands within Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington, and Yamhill Counties

General Information