. .



Oregon / Washington

Official Secure Rural Schools Payments Made to Counties

On October 2, 2013 Congress passed a one year reauthorization of the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self Determination Act as part of the Helium Stewardship Act, Public Law 113-40. More information will be posted as soon as it becomes available.

Payment Charts

2014 O&C and Coos Bay Wagon Road Receipt Payments

2015 O&C and Coos Bay Wagon Road Receipt Payments

In 2015, because the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act has not been reauthorized the, the BLM will be making payments under existing legal authorities, including the 1937 (O&C Lands Act) and the 1939 (Coos Bay Wagon Road) statues that remain in effect and authorize timber receipt-based payments to western Oregon counties.

The O&C Lands Act provides that 50 percent of receipts from the sale of O&C timber are distributed among the 18 O&C counties. The 18 O&C counties in western Oregon covered under the 1937 Oregon and California Grant Lands statute, including: Benton, Clackamas, Columbia, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine, Klamath, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington, and Yamhill. Coos and Douglas counties have Coos Bay Wagon Road (CBWR) and O&C lands within their boundaries. Payments to those counties are covered by both the 1937 and 1939 statutes.

Because the receipt payments come from the BLM's mandatory accounts these 2014 payments in made in 2015 will be subject to sequester at 7.3 percent. The 18 O&C counties will receive approximately $18,000,344.15.

Below is a county-by-county breakdown of the 2014 receipt-based payments:

General Information