. .

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT

National Riparian
Service Team

Creeks & Communities Network

National Riparian Service Team

The Creeks and Communities strategy is implemented by a diverse group of individuals and institutions referred to as the Creeks and Communities Network. The core structure includes the National Riparian Service Team, State Riparian Teams, and various Agency Coordinators for Creeks and Communities. In addition to delivering services in response to requests for assistance, the Network enables coordination, learning and information-sharing among its members. While currently focused on riparian-wetland issues, the Creeks and Communities approach is applicable to fostering collaborative adaptive management to address any number of resource issues that do not correspond to jurisdictional boundaries. The Network is facilitating the integration of the Creeks and Communities principles and practices within programs and initiatives and seeking to expand the development of innovative partnerships and alliances to increase effectiveness.

The National Riparian Service Team can be reached at:
3050 NE 3rd Street
Prineville, OR 97754
Phone: 541-416-6700
Fax: 541-416-6798

General Team e-mail: nrst@blm.gov


NATIONAL RIPARIAN SERVICE TEAM

NAME TITLE PHONE E-MAIL
Steve Smith Team Leader
541-416-6703 sjsmith@blm.gov
Janice Staats Hydrologist 541-416-6891 jstaats@blm.gov
Sandy Wyman Rangeland Management Specialist 541-416-6886 swyman@blm.gov
Carol Connolly Public Affairs Specialist 541-416-6892 cconnoll@blm.gov
Laura Van Riper   Social Scientist 541-416-6702 lvanripe@blm.gov
VACANT Team Coordinator    
Mark Gonzalez Riparian Ecologist (Soils) 541-416-6705 mgonzale@blm.gov

STATE TEAM LEADERS

LOCATION NAME TITLE PHONE E-MAIL
Arizona VACANT      
California VACANT      
Canada Cori Barraclough Limonology/Education 250-427-0260 aqua-tex@islandnet.com
Patrick Lucey Applied Aquatic Ecologist 250-598-0265
Colorado Jay Thompson Fisheries Biologist 303-239-3724 jmthomp@blm.gov
Idaho Bryce Bohn
Hydrologist/Fish Biologist 208-373-3829 bbohn@blm.gov
Montana Michael Philbin Hydrologist 406-896-5041 mphilbin@blm.gov
New Mexico John Sherman Wildlife Biologist 505-954-2182 JsSherman@blm.gov
Nevada Sherman Swanson  Extension Range Specialist
& Riparian Scientist
775-784-4057 sswanson@cabnr.unr.edu
Oregon Jim Eisner Fisheries Biologist 541-416-6753 jeisner@blm.gov
Texas Russ Castro Wildlife Biologist 254-742-9982 Russell.Castro@tx.usda.gov
Utah Justin Jimenez Fisheries/Riparian Program Manager 801-539-4073 JJimenez@blm.gov
Washington VACANT
     
Wyoming VACANT