. .

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT

Oregon / Washington

Recreation Guidelines

Campground Information

A campsite along the North Umpqua River.
  • Camping and picnic sites are available on a first-come, first-serve basis.
  • The maximum length of stay at a campground is 14 consecutive days.
  • Most campgrounds are staffed by volunteer hosts.
  • Day use areas are open sunrise to sunset.
    • Pets are allowed in day use areas. Pets must be physically restrained by a 6 foot or shorter leash in all campgrounds and day use areas. Dogs are not allowed in designated swimming areas.
    • Millpond, Rock Creek, and Tyee Pavilions: Groups over 25 must make a reservation by calling 877-444-6777 or visiting www.recreation.gov.
  • Senior Passes (age 62 and up) and Access Passes (for individuals with documented disabilities) are honored in our campgrounds.
  • There are no electrical hook-ups for trailers at any campground.
  • Dump stations are located at Elk Haven RV resort in Idleyld, Douglas County Fairgrounds in Roseburg, and at the Diamond Lake Resort.

Recreation Management Supplementary Rules

Large bridge along the Wolf Creek Falls Trail.

Action

Supplementary Rules for Recreation Areas on Roseburg District BLM lands were published in the Federal Register on March 10, 1995, Vol 60, No. 47 page 13165.

Summary

Supplementary Rules were established to set the standards of conduct for persons using public lands and the penalties that may be imposed for failure to obey the regulations. Most rules apply to developed recreation areas, however, some apply to any public lands where recreation uses may occur. The rules are designed to augment existing laws contained in the Code of Federal Regulations; and to ensure safe, enjoyable and environmentally sound visitation on the public lands, free from unwarranted disturbance.

Camping Limits

  1. Overnight camping is prohibited in designated Research Natural Areas unless otherwise permitted by the authorized officer.
  2. Within the North Umpqua Wild and Scenic River Corridor, overnight camping is only allowed at designated campgrounds and along the North Umpqua Trail within 100 feet of the trail or by special permit issued by the authorizing officer.
  3. Excluding the North Umpqua Trail, no overnight camping or occupancy is allowed at any developed trailhead or within 50 feet of any trail, except as allowed by an authorized officer.

Restrictions at Designated Campgrounds

  1. You must not camp any longer than 14 days on public land; after 14 days; you must move at least 25 air miles from the previous site.
  2. Fees must be paid within 30 minutes of occupying your camp site.
  3. Campground users must occupy a campsite the first night of their stay; pre-payment to hold or reserve a campsite is not allowed. Any personal property left unattended for the purpose of holding a campsite for more than 24 hours will be removed and the campsite will be returned to the first-come, first-served pool.
  4. Use of shower facilities at Susan Creek Campground is restricted to campground occupants only who have paid the campground fee, unless otherwise permitted by the authorized officer.
  5. No person shall operate or use any audio or motorized equipment or create or allow obtrusive noises (human or animal) in a manner that disturbs other visitors (quiet hours) between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. except in Eagleview Group Campground where quiet hours are between 9 p.m. and 8 a.m.
  6. Non-street licensed vehicles are not permitted to be operated within designated campgrounds unless otherwise permitted by authorized officer.
  7. Reservations and a use permit are required for activities at Eagleview and Lone Pine Group Campgrounds unless otherwise approved by the authorized officer.
  8. No more than 10 people allowed overnight in each campsite unless otherwise approved by the authorized officer.
  9. No dogs allowed in posting swimming areas.
  10. Horses are not allowed in developed campgrounds.

Day Use Areas

Cavitt Creek Falls Recreation Area
  1. A Recreation Use Permit is required for pavilion use by groups of 25 people or more at Millpond, Rock Creek and Tyee DUAs.
  2. All DUAs are open during day light hours from sunrise to sunset.
  3. No person may leave personal property unattended in designated DUAs for more than 24 hours, except for vehicles and non-occupied trailers parked at trailheads.
  4. No overnight camping in any DUA.
  5. Non-street licensed ATVs, motorcycles, and vehicles are not permitted to be operated within DUAs.

Trail Restrictions

  1. Motorized vehicle use is prohibited on developed hiking trails unless otherwise permitted by the authorized officer.
  2. Horses are not allowed on trails in developed campgrounds and DUAs.

Firearm Restrictions

No person shall discharge a firearm within one-half mile of a developed recreation site or area, or across or within 100 feet of any designated recreation trail.

Supplementary Information

Camping limits are established to reduce the incidence of long-term unauthorized occupancy, while permitting legitimate camping on the public lands administered by the Roseburg District. Authority of these supplementary rules is contained in 43 CFR, chapter II, subpart 8360.0-3 and 8365.1-6. Persons who fail to comply with these provisions may be subject to the penalties provided in 43 CFR 8360.0-7 and 43 CFR 9262.1, which include a fine not to exceed $1000.00 and/or imprisonment for not to exceed 12 months.