U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIORBUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT
|Nevada Wild Horses & Burros|
To adopt a wild horse or burro, you must be 18 years old. Parents or guardians may adopt and allow a younger family member to care for the animal. You must also have the facilities necessary to care for the animal and no prior conviction for inhumane treatment of animals.
Read some of our wild horse adoption success stories. Click here for the latest wild horse & burro adoption results held on Feb. 21 at the Northern Nevada Correctional Center in Carson City, Nevada. The next saddle-trained adoption will be on May 30, 2015.
Palomino Valley National Adoption Center
The Palomino Valley National Adoption Center (PVC) is located about 20 miles north of Sparks, Nevada on the Pyramid Highway. The facility is open by appointment Monday-Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. and Saturday, 8:00 a.m. to Noon. To schedule an appointment, call 775-475-2222.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Q – Where can I obtain an adoption application?
Q – When are adoptions held?
Q – What are BLM’s adoption requirements?
Q – What are BLM’s facility requirements?
Q – Does BLM sell wild horses or burros for slaughter?
As an agency that administers the public lands for multiple uses, the BLM -- under the authority of the 1971 law -- manages and protects wild horses and burros as living symbols of the Western spirit. The Bureau also ensures that population levels are in balance with rangeland resources and other uses of the public lands.
To achieve this balance, the BLM must remove thousands of animals from the range each year to control the size of herds, which have virtually no predators and can double in population every four years.
After wild horses and burros are removed from the range, the Bureau works to place as many animals as possible into private care through adoption or sales. Since 1973, the BLM has placed more than 220,000 horses and burros into private ownership through adoption, a process in which a citizen may receive the title of ownership to an animal after one year. Under a December 2004 amendment to the 1971 wild horse law, animals over 10 years old -- as well as those passed over for adoption at least three times -- are eligible for sale, in which the title of ownership passes immediately from the Federal government to the buyer. Since the amendment took effect, the BLM has sold about 2,700 horses and burros. The BLM encourages those who are interested in providing good homes to wild horses or burros to visit the agency's Website (www.blm.gov) for information about adoptions and sales.
|Last updated: 02-24-2015|
|USA.GOV | No Fear Act | DOI | Disclaimer | About BLM | Notices | Social Media Policy|