Red Rock Canyon NCA
BLM
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR
BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT
Range Cattle, Elko NV Railroad Valley Oil Well, Battle Mountain NV Bear Poppy Flower, Las Vegas NV Desert Tortoise, Las Vegas NV Wild Horses, Battle Mountain NV
Nevada
BLM Programs>Nevada>BLM Programs>Minerals>Hard Rock Mining>Filing Requirements and Fees
Print Page
Filing Requirements and Fees
Mining Law Requirements on Federal Lands 

Locating and Recording a Mining Claim/Site
Location Notices/Certificates must be filed with the BLM Nevada State Office, 1340
Financial Blvd., Reno, 89502, within 90 days from the date of location. You must also
record the location notices/certificates with the County Recorder within 90 days from the
date of location. Location Notices/Certificates must include meridian, township, range,
section, and quarter section in which the claim is located, location date, type of location,
claim name, and claimant(s) name and address. Also, submit a map showing the
boundary of the claim within a section.

For claims located before September 1, 2009, a $170 Per Claim/Site 
Fee is required at the time of recordation with BLM. This fee covers $15 processing fee,
$30 location fee, and $125 maintenance fee for the assessment year in which the 
claim/site is located (2009).

On June 29, 2009, the fees for the location fee and the maintenance fee were
increased, to $34 for the location fee and $140 for the maintenance fee. The location
fee increase will apply to claims located on or after September 1, 2009. The
maintenance fee increase starts with maintenance for the 2010 assessment year.
 
For claims located on or after September 1, 2009, a $189 per claim/site fee is
required at the time of recordation with BLM. This fee covers the $15 processing fee,
$34 location fee, and $140 maintenance fee for the assessment year in which the
claim/site is located (2010). If you fail to file the location notice/certificate within the 
90-day filing period, the location will be declared forfeit and void by operation of law.
 
Location Date: Date discovery monument is erected and location notice is posted on
the ground.
 
Assessment Year: Begins at 12:00 noon September 1 through 12:00 noon September 1.
 
See regulations (43 CFR 3838) for locating claims on private land patented under the
Stock Raising Homestead Act, or if disposal of the minerals is authorized under this Act.
A Notice of Intent to Locate must be filed prior to locating a claim. BLM service charge
is $25.
 
MAINTAINING CLAIMS AND SITES

A $140 Maintenance Fee or a Maintenance Fee Waiver Certification must be filed
annually on or before September 1 and is filed in advance for the upcoming assessment
year. (See 43 CFR 3834.) If you filed your Maintenance Fee for the 2010 assessment
year before June 29, 2009, you are required to submit the additional $15 per claim/site
due for the 2010 Maintenance Fee. You should receive a letter from BLM requesting
the additional Maintenance Fee, or you may submit the additional fee prior to such
notification, and reference the claim/site names and BLM serial numbers for which the
additional fees are being paid.
 
Claimants Who File the Maintenance Fees Must: Include a document listing the
claim/site names and BLM serial numbers for which the fees are being paid. The
maintenance fee is in lieu of performance of assessment work.
 
Claimants Who File the Maintenance Fee Waiver Certification (Small Miner
Exemption – Form 3830-2) Must:
 
1. Complete the assessment work for the current assessment year prior to September 1.
2. Hold no more than 10 claims or have an interest in no more than 10 claims in the
 U.S. on September 1.
3. File a relinquishment or transfer ownership on or before September 1, for those
 claims that are over the 10-claim limit.
4. Include the name, address, and original signature of all owners on the waiver.
5. List claim names and serial numbers that you wish to maintain on the waiver.
6. File a Proof of Labor/Affidavit of Assessment Work with the BLM Nevada State Office
 on or before December 30. BLM processing fee is $10 per claim/site.
 (See 43 CFR 3835)
 
NOTE: No charge to file a Small Miner Exemption.
 
Proof of Labor/Affidavit of Assessment Work, Notice of Intent to Hold –
 
1. Complete the assessment work for the current assessment year prior to September 1.
2. List claim names and serial numbers on the Proof of Labor/Affidavit of Assessment
 Work, or Notice of Intent to Hold.
3. File a Proof of Labor/Affidavit of Assessment Work or Notice of Intent to Hold with the
 BLM State Office on or before December 30. BLM processing fee is $10 per claim/site.
4. File a Proof of Labor/Affidavit of Assessment Work or Notice of Intent to Hold with the
 County Recorder on or before November 1.
5. The affidavit must be signed in the presence of a notary public (State Requirement).
(See 43 CFR 3835.30)
 
Recording a Change of Address, Amended Notice, Transfer of Interest, and
Relinquishment
 
Change of Address -- List claim names and BLM serial numbers. Note address
change on annual filing. No charge to file a change of address.
 
Amended Notice -- If a correction is required on the original location notice, an
amended notice should be filed with the BLM and the County Recorder. BLM
processing fee is $10 per claim/site. There is no charge to file an amended map.
(See 43 CFR 3833.20).
Transfer of Interest (Notarized) -- If there is a change of name/ownership, the transfer
document must include the name and address of the Transferor and Transferee. The
transfer document must also include the claim names and BLM serial numbers and
should be filed with BLM and the County Recorder. BLM processing fee is $10 per
claim/site per transferee (person receiving the interest in the claim/site). A notarized
copy of the transfer is a state requirement.
(See 43 CFR 3833.30)
 
Abandonment/Relinquishment of claims -- List claim names and BLM serial
numbers. No BLM processing fee.
 
FILING REQUIREMENTS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE
 
As an owner of mining claims, YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE for keeping yourself informed
of the changes in the filing requirements and the mining laws. Congress may pass
legislation affecting filing requirements; consequently, the procedure may change. It is
suggested that you contact our office periodically to stay up to date. You may write us at
BLM Nevada State Office, 1340 Financial Blvd., Reno, NV 89502 or call the Information
Access Center at (775) 861-6500. You may also obtain from the Information Access
Center, guidance on locating a mining claim, additional forms, pamphlets, etc.