Rio Grande Gorge, New Mexico
Mimbres Black-on-White Bowl, New Mexico Lesser Prairie Chicken, New Mexico Rafting the Rio Grande, New Mexico Wild Horse, New Mexico Oil Rig, Oklahoma
New Mexico
BLM>New Mexico>National Conservation Lands>National Monuments
Print Page

National Monuments

National Monument Frequently Asked Questions

A national monument is an area of public land designated to protect historic landmarks, historic and prehistoric structures, or other objects of historic or scientific interest.

Why are National Monuments designated?
The Antiquities Act of 1906 grants the President authority to designate national monuments in order to protect “objects of historic or scientific interest.” While most national monuments are established by the President, Congress has also occasionally established national monuments to protect natural or historic features. Since 1906, the President and Congress have created more than 100 national monuments. National monuments are currently managed by agencies including the National Park Service, Forest Service, Fish and Wildlife Service, or BLM.
What National Monuments are in New Mexico
New Mexico is the home to four national monuments:


Rio Grande del Norte National Monument

Rio Grande del Norte 
National Monument

Organ Mountains-Desert Peaks National Monument

Organ Mountains-Desert Peaks 
National Monument


Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument

Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks 
National Monument

Prehistoric Trackways National Monument

Prehistoric Trackways 
National Monument

National Conservation Lands

National Conservation Lands in New Mexico

The NLCS: A Geography of Hope (video)

National Conservation Areas

National Scenic and Historic Trails

National Monuments

Wild and Scenic Rivers

Wilderness and Wilderness Study Areas (WSA)

Map of National Conservation Lands in New Mexico

Implementing the National 
15-Year Strategy in New Mexico

National Conservation Lands Online Resources (maps, brochures, etc.)

National Conservation Lands National Page