Resource Advisory Council Application
Nomination Period: February 3-March 20

New Mexico Resource Advisory Councils

The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) New Mexico has four Resource Advisory Councils (RACs) within its borders.  The RACs operate on the principle of collaborative decision-making and strive for consensus before making official recommendations to the BLM Designated Federal Official. 

The Albuquerque, Farmington, Las Cruces, and Pecos Districts RACs are all comprised of 10 members representing a balance of public land resources and users in the following categories.

  • 3 members who represent commercial uses or users such as livestock grazing, timber production, mining, oil and gas, realty/rights-of-ways, off-highway vehicle groups and commercial recreation such as, guides and outfitters
  • 3 members who represent environmental organizations, historic/cultural interests, wildlife and other conservation organizations, wild horse and burro interests and dispersed/general recreation users
  • 4 members who represent elected officials, state or other governmental agencies, Tribes, academic institutions, and the public-at-large

Farmington District RAC Albuquerque District RAC Las Cruces District RAC Pecos District RAC Map of New Mexico Resource Advisory Council Districts


New Mexico RACs

Albuquerque District 
RAC Coordinator:
Martin Visarraga

Farmington District
RAC Coordinator: 
Christine Horton 

Las Cruces District
RAC Coordinator: 
Rena Gutierrez 

Pecos District
RAC Coordinator: 
Howard Parman 

Resource Advisory Council
Orientation Notebook

Resource Advisory
Council Brochure